Sound Card for DJing with external mixer and X1s?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default Sound Card for DJing with external mixer and X1s?

    Just lost a bidding war on ebay for a Traktor Audio 8... went for $260 australian didnt think it was worth more than that used. What are my alternatives in this price range for a sound card for a DJM 800, x2 X1 and a macbook running traktor? Traktor audio 8 seem very rare to find used and i would really like 4 channels not 3 (Audio 6).
    Suggestions?

  2. #2

    Default

    ESI Gigaport, basically.

    Or you can spend a bit more and get a Zomo MC-1000 which gives you a few more MIDI controls as well, plus the audio interface.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdcdesign View Post
    ESI Gigaport, basically.

    Or you can spend a bit more and get a Zomo MC-1000 which gives you a few more MIDI controls as well, plus the audio interface.
    Does the gigaport work with traktor? not interested in Zomo tbh

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    It will work fine, except that the lack of inputs means no recording (and no timecode obviously). If you can find 2 channel sound cards very cheap e.g. Audio 2s or similar you could aggregate two of them to get 4 deck output.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    It will work fine, except that the lack of inputs means no recording (and no timecode obviously). If you can find 2 channel sound cards very cheap e.g. Audio 2s or similar you could aggregate two of them to get 4 deck output.
    What would be the best 2 channel mixer than if i was to get 2. I can get 2 Numark DJ iO for $180 oz? this sound card also has a 5 star review on digitaldjtips. yay or nay?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    The DJ iO seems fairly popular with those wanting a simple 2 channel sound card so two of them should work nicely aggregated together.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    The DJ iO seems fairly popular with those wanting a simple 2 channel sound card so two of them should work nicely aggregated together.
    Does NOT work properly on Mountain Lion (driver problems require the machine be restarted with the card plugged in or else it completely screws up).

    The Audio8 is a solid card for the money TBH and worth the cash.

    The Gigaport will work fine with Traktor.
    Last edited by deevey; 06-17-2013 at 05:50 AM.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Does that still happen with the 10.8 drivers?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    Does that still happen with the 10.8 drivers?
    It did with mine and was the reason I got rid of it - that and the ridiculously low outputs.

    2x S/H Audio2's would be almost the same price and much MUCH better sound quality - but aggregating cards is really a messy way of doing things.
    Last edited by deevey; 06-17-2013 at 05:52 AM.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Klaxsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    It did with mine and was the reason I got rid of it - that and the ridiculously low outputs.

    2x S/H Audio2's would be almost the same price and much MUCH better sound quality - but aggregating cards is really a messy way of doing things.
    Damn. Was keen on ordering 2 of them but if they dont work with mountain lion they are of no use to me. Will try to pick up an Audio 8 if i can get a used one under $250. Alternative route gigaport or 2 Traktor Audio 2s. How does gigaport stack up against audio 8?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •