Beginer dj setup?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Beginer dj setup?

    so i'm 15 and very interested in getting into dj, and i dont have a massive budget. I was thinking vestax spin 2 (i would be using it with my mac book pro, and djay), and just seeing were it goes from there. any thoughts. I would be mostly mixing reggae and hip hop if it makes a difference.
    This is what i did with just software, and yes i know it's terrible: https://soundcloud.com/thepowderpigr...y-first-mix-up

  2. #2
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,357

    Default

    CMD studio 4A.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru MYE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    CMD studio 4A.
    +1
    Techno Producer and Dj//Upcoming releases on Discovery Records and other labels//Australia//https://soundcloud.com/mrmye

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    CMD studio 4A.
    hard to disagree with this, these will sell like hotcakes.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Not sure a hotcake will sell better than a cold cake. It really depends on the type of cake.

    @ OP. You could also look for second hand gear. Like pioneer cdj 400s and a mixer. Those cdjs take USB. You can't connect them to your pc though afaik.
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Olsgaard/
    House/Techno Dj from Denmark

  6. #6
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,764

    Default

    reloop terminal mix 4.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor JayRuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Weston-super-Mare, UK
    Posts
    191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dohjo View Post
    Not sure a hotcake will sell better than a cold cake. It really depends on the type of cake.

    @ OP. You could also look for second hand gear. Like pioneer cdj 400s and a mixer. Those cdjs take USB. You can't connect them to your pc though afaik.
    CDJ 400's can be used with traktor in hid mode. aswell as serato.
    Parts
    Technics 1210//CDJ400//DDM4000//X1//Audio 10//MBP 15" Mid 2012

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    217

    Default

    I see. Well, there you have it
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Olsgaard/
    House/Techno Dj from Denmark

  9. #9
    Tech Guru dj gullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Faroe Islands
    Posts
    600

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JayRuss View Post
    CDJ 400's can be used with traktor in hid mode. aswell as serato.
    And Mixvibes Cross but why should he get CDJ's at all?


    CMD Stusio 4 looks like a verry good controller for starting out on and it does not break the bank. Vestax spin 2 is ofcause plug and play with Djay but the Studio 4 is halft the price and has way more controlls and will get a mapping for Djay pretti soon I think. Also after you get a hang of DJ'ing you might want to be able to do more then you can do with Djay and that time I'm quite sure most other software will have a mapping file for the CMD Studio 4.
    DJ setup 1 - Pioneer XDJ-Aero, Pioneer DDJ-SP1, Mixvibes Cross, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000. DJ setup 2 - NI Kontrol F1, Z1, X1mkII, Traktor Pro2, Macbook Air 13", Pioneer HDJ 2000 w. Production - iMac 21.5", Motu 828x, Icon Qcon Pro + EX, Nektar Panorama P4, Propellerhead Reason, Mashine Mikro(drum programer in Reason)

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    289

    Default

    agree with the cmd controller.
    as far as your mixing goes: focus on your transitions rather than trying to do tricks like scratching etc for now. you can always add that later. Djay is a good software to start with, nothing wrong with that. learn on your laptop until you get your gear.
    Macbook Pro, TP 2.6, 2* Kontrol X1, A&H xone:92, NI Maschine, 2* KRK Rokit 5s, Sennheiser HD 25-II
    http://www.mixcloud.com/_volpe/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •