VersaPort Question
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    40

    Default VersaPort Question

    Hello,

    I own one American Audio VersaPort, my question is can I cue with my headphones connected directly to the headphone jacked from the audio interface?

    I was trying yo use it with mixxx and traktor, but in both i can only set the outputs to example:
    Main 1/2
    Monitor 3/4
    But the audio that comes from the headphones is the main, I hear both songs.
    Is it possible to set the headphone output to work as 3/4?

    I have the American Audio VersaPort ASIO drivers installed.
    Any solution?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    Why don't you just try:

    Main 3/4
    Monitor 1/2

    and see how that effects the headphone out? But I suspect the headphone out is the sum of both.

    You could buy one of these:

    !BrhFH7gBmk~$(KGrHqIH-C4EvCWUTyvdBL0BQyTvvw~~_12.jpg

    and have either 1/2 or 3/4 as your headphone out...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    40

    Default

    I tried that and had the same effect, but I will try it again.
    That could solve the problem, thanks for the suggestions.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Hello,
    I actually bought that cable, and now I'm using traktor pro 2.6.3. In the output section it only shows output port 1/2, I can't get a proper configuration to be able to cue.
    I have the asio driver from Versaport.
    Any one? Any suggestions?
    Regards

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Why don't you just try:

    Main 3/4
    Monitor 1/2

    and see how that effects the headphone out? But I suspect the headphone out is the sum of both.

    You could buy one of these:

    !BrhFH7gBmk~$(KGrHqIH-C4EvCWUTyvdBL0BQyTvvw~~_12.jpg

    and have either 1/2 or 3/4 as your headphone out...
    Last edited by jjnf; 08-01-2013 at 04:12 PM.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Don't use one of those adapters to connect headphones into RCA sockets. They are not suitable for driving headphones and are only designed to transmit a line level signal to the next piece of equipment e.g. powered speakers or an amplifier.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    Rubbish.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Headphone amplifiers exist for a reason. Line outputs should only be connected to high-impedance line inputs.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by makar1 View Post
    Headphone amplifiers exist for a reason. Line outputs should only be connected to high-impedance line inputs.
    Tell that to Audio 2 users.

    Sorry, but I'm with Patch on this one. The line (ahaha) between headphone and line out, especially when it comes to DACs, is simply a matter of gain.
    For Sale: Handmade Custom DJ Cables - RCA / TRS / XLR!
    Gear: 2x Reloop Contour, Zomo MC-1000, Reloop RMX-40 :: Reloop Terminal Mix 4 :: Korg nanoKONTROL :: Traktor 2.6.1
    Latest Mix: June Progressive House (Soundcloud)

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdcdesign View Post
    Tell that to Audio 2 users.

    Sorry, but I'm with Patch on this one. The line (ahaha) between headphone and line out, especially when it comes to DACs, is simply a matter of gain.
    Luckily I happen to be an Audio 2 user:
    http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...ad.php?t=90103

    Each stereo output has an integrated headphone amp that engages automatically if a headphone is inserted (via impedance detection). Otherwise, it works as a regular line output.
    I have also observed the loading effect via oscilloscope of connecting a low impedance device like a cheap pair of headphones to a line output port. A regular Line Out is not supposed to supply any current at all (ideally); the ideal op-amp has infinite input impedance it draws no current from the input device. Which is precisely the point of the operational amplifier (within a Line Input) - to produce an output signal without drawing current (loading) from the previous components.

    A line input has a typical impedance of 10kΩ - compare that to the impedance of typical headphones.
    Headphones will draw a huge amount of current vs a line connection, and may end up damaging components due to the current draw.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    I have also observed the loading effect via oscilloscope of connecting a low impedance device like a cheap pair of headphones to a line output port. A regular Line Out is not supposed to supply any current at all (ideally); the ideal op-amp has infinite input impedance it draws no current from the input device. Which is precisely the point of the operational amplifier (within a Line Input) - to produce an output signal without drawing current (loading) from the previous components.

    A line input has a typical impedance of 10kΩ - compare that to the impedance of typical headphones.
    Headphones will draw a huge amount of current vs a line connection, and may end up damaging components due to the current draw.
    353xnp.jpg
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •