fees and licensing
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default fees and licensing

    I am just getting into the DJ business and doing jobs for local people. Is there any specific licensing or fees that I need to pay as a DJ playing music when I get to these events? I would be doing stuff for school dances, proms, weddings, and other various events if that means anything to this question.

  2. #2
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    We might be able to help if you at least tell us where are you located.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    35

    Default

    im wondering the same thing! i live in british columbia canada.
    ----- ( 2 x ) Stanton ST 150's , Sure M44-7-h , Traktor Kontrol Z2, TSP2, Macbook, rane SL2 -----

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,409

    Default

    As far as i am aware, any such fees, if applicable at all, are the responsibility of the venue, not performer.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazyj View Post
    proms.
    ^^That leads me to think he is in the USofA maybe. I'm not aware of "proms" as in High School Prom anywhere else.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    As far as i am aware, any such fees, if applicable at all, are the responsibility of the venue, not performer.
    In the UK if you use a laptop you are 'supposed' to have a ProDub license which allows you to use copies of MP3s if they are copied from CD or duplicated from downloads or backups etc.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,409

    Default

    'supposed' is a relative term eh
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  7. #7
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,765

    Default

    In Nevada you have to hold a mobile dj license but Ive never been asked for it.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I live in Montana and bounce between the area surrounding Greatfalls and attend college down in Bozeman.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •