DJ Battling, Scratching, Beat Juggling, Trick Mixing - Ask me anything
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default DJ Battling, Scratching, Beat Juggling, Trick Mixing - Ask me anything

There have been some articles on these topics lately on the main page and it's stuff I think I have some knowledge to share, so just putting the offer out there if anyone's interested in any of this stuff. If not then nothing lost . I also plan on doing some tutorials myself at some point so this might help me get an idea of where to direct that focus.

Short bio: I'm 3x Canadian DJ champ (2x DMC, 1x IDA), and 2x world champ (2012 DMC Supremacy, 2012 IDA). I've been DJing for 9 years and won my 1st ever DJ battle in late 2011... so a lot has happened in the past 1.5-2 years and I'm definitely no natural at this stuff. Not gonna post links cuz I'd rather this topic be about the art, but if you wanna see stuff that I do and have questions about it look up Vekked on youtube.
    2012 DMC Supremacy World Champ + IDA World Champ

Schalenberg

What's Canada like?

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by nudedudewithattitude View Post
    What's Canada like?
    LOL, too cold 90% of the time.

Vekked - I will HAPPILY take you up on your offer!!! (I don't need to look up any of your vids - I've seen most of 'em and they ALWAYS leave e with my jaw on the floor!)

I would LOVE a detailed break down of some beat juggling routines. I've always found it really difficult to visualise what is happening when a DJ juggles. Simple looping/backspinning is not a problem, but stuff like the strobe pattern and the 1-2 pattern have always baffled me.

Do you have a way to describe beat juggle routines, if possible, with diagrams - maybe a time line, with cue point indicators on?

I'm really glad you're hanging around here!
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO