Kontrol x1 recording question
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Default Kontrol x1 recording question

    Hey guys,

    I currently have a kontrol x1 with a numark dj-io sound card and numark x5 mixer. Everytime I try to record my mix in traktor, it never works. Im pretty sure i have all my imports right. Not quite sure what Im doing wrong. Am I missing something in my setup? Does my setup not allow me to record? Any suggestions are a big help!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    206

    Default

    So, it sounds like you're running deck A and B from the DJ-IO to the left and right channels on the external Numark mixer. If that's the case, you can't record that way. The internal recorder from Traktor is intended for recording sets that you mix in internal mode... that is, it uses the software's mixer, EQ's, etc.

    There's a blog post on here that has some more info on recording mixes:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2012/09/0...ding-dj-mixes/

    Hopefully that helps!

  3. #3
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,372

    Default

    Is your recording source set to internal?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    289

    Default

    your mixer doesn't have a record out and your sundcard no inputs, so there we probably have the problem...
    how i would go about this: connect one of your mixers outputs to your laptops mic input (or maybe the soundcards mic-in will work, though i read it was a "thru" input) while the other mixers output stays at the speakers of course. you might need to buy a fitting cable.
    you should then be able to record your mix with a audio-software like audacity (freeware). just dont mess with the mixers output volume while recording
    you cannot record inside traktor since you dont mix internally and don't have a soundcard that provides inputs as well as outputs.
    Macbook Pro, TP 2.6, 2* Kontrol X1, A&H xone:92, NI Maschine, 2* KRK Rokit 5s, Sennheiser HD 25-II
    http://www.mixcloud.com/_volpe/

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,382

    Default

    You need to either get a soundcard with inputs for externally recording, or ditch the mixer and just record internally. Get yourself a TA6 and rock out mate
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •