Denon DNX1600 & DNS3700 with TSP2, need some help!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default Denon DNX1600 & DNS3700 with TSP2, need some help!

    Hi DJTT,

    I have an upcoming gig with logistics provided, Denon DNX 1600 & 2 DN-S3700.

    My question is whether i will be able to run TSP2 on this setup, given that I've brought TSP2 after the 2.00 version update and only have the Traktor Control CDs MK2

    I know that the DNX1600 is Traktor Scratch certified, but I've read that the DN-S3700 is unable to support 2.5khz output for MK2 timecode cds VS 2.0khz MK1 timecode CDs

    So if thats the case, am i right in saying that I would not be able to run TSP2, and my only option would be to use USBs/CDs?

    Cheers DJTT!
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You can always use the actual timecode CDs which will work fine in any CD player. The only potential issue is with Hybrid MIDI/timecode if that does not allow you to play the timecode signal from a CD.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Isnt the DN-S3700 unable to output the new Control CD tone of 2.5khz? which means i cant use the cd? Sorry if i got it wrong.
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    464

    Default

    The hybrid mode won't work unless you registered TSP before v2.1.1 if I remember correctly.
    Hybrid mode is a timecode signal generated by the 3700s without the need for CDs, while the buttons and knobs still send midi info to Traktor.

    You have a few options ....
    Run the 3700s in midi mode - the platters don't spin like vinyl in midi mode, the knobs and buttons send midi messages to Traktor like a controller.
    Run the 3700s in CD or USB memory stick mode with timecode CDs or the audio from the timecode CDs via a USB storage device - the platters spin like vinyl, the knobs and buttons won't send any midi info to Traktor.
    Run the 3700s in CD or memory stick mode without Traktor - run the audio files through the Denon media manager to make use of tags and display the waveforms on the 3700s.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default

    So if i were to use the MK2 Control CDs to control TSP2, it would still be possible?

    I was under the impression that it wouldnt be able to..?
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You can still use the Mk2 CDs with the 3700, but you may not be able to use Hybrid mode so many of the buttons will not be useable.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  7. #7
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tornesoul View Post
    So if i were to use the MK2 Control CDs to control TSP2, it would still be possible?
    Yes.
    As previousy stated, only Hybrid Mode is not possible - because Denon hasn't updated firmware to output 2.5khz timecode (in order not to canibalize SC3900 sales).
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •