Why does my rig never work right in a club (X1's specifically)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor jayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    361

    Default Why does my rig never work right in a club (X1's specifically)

    So every time I setup in a proper club my rig never wants to work properly. Usually I'm using 2 X1's with native mappings and an A6 running to the clubs mixer. Either neither of the x1's will be recognized by tsp, or if I'm lucky only 1 will work. If I don't use my USB hub and plug the a6 and one X1 directly into my computer then it's all good. But as soon as I plug both X1's into the hub shit hits the fan. When I take it home and set it up everything works flawlessly, but take it to the club the next night and the same issues pop up.
    For the record I am using a cheap hub. But if it works fine at home, why not a club environment?
    A&H Xone 62, 2 x X1's, A6, Sony MDR V-700's

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor P4ULSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The West Coast
    Posts
    274

    Default

    u using a windows pc right?

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor jayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    361

    Default

    Nope. It's an 09 MacBook that is clean as a whistle.
    A&H Xone 62, 2 x X1's, A6, Sony MDR V-700's

  4. #4
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    For the record I am using a cheap hub.
    Vibration is a bitch, and a slightly loose USB cable will cause major issues being recognized properly .. try a decent hub.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,204

    Default

    Do you bring your own conditioned power strip or are you plugging into whatever you find at the club? Are ANY of the lights on the same leg of power? Are the Amps?
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  6. #6
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SirReal View Post
    Do you bring your own conditioned power strip or are you plugging into whatever you find at the club? Are ANY of the lights on the same leg of power? Are the Amps?
    I've only ever seen dirty power being an issue with Mains powered devices (e.g. CDJ's, Mixers, Amps) never power bricked ones which have a very wide voltage range (normally 100-240v). Even at that 2 X1's should not even draw enough power for that to make a difference.

    Moving on from that though, is it a powered or unpowered Hub ?
    Last edited by deevey; 08-14-2013 at 04:58 AM.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,340

    Default

    Welcome to being a dj. The gods of bad luck have it out for us big time.....

    But seriously make sure all your USB cables have a ferrite interference filter on them. It actually makes a difference if you get your rig too close to an amp or something, those things put out serious magnetic interference.
    Last edited by 031999; 08-14-2013 at 05:44 AM.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor jayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    361

    Default

    I am using a non-powered hub, and my USB cables are the ones that came with the X1's.
    A&H Xone 62, 2 x X1's, A6, Sony MDR V-700's

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor Calzone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Try a POWERED hub. This is very likely to be the culprit. (for the usb issue anyways)
    Lenovo P580 || TSP2 || Traktor Z2 || 2x Audio-Technica AT-LP120 || Pioneer HDJ 1500 || Behringer B212D || http://www.mixcloud.com/Calzonetti/

  10. #10

    Default

    If you always use the same gear and the problem happens in multiple locations, it is probably a power related issue with your gear.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •