Reloop Digital Jockey 2 Interface Headphone Noise
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    37

    Default Reloop Digital Jockey 2 Interface Headphone Noise

    Hi guys,

    recently I've been having trouble with my Reloop controller. Sometimes (for no apparent reason) when I have my headphones plugged in, this really loud noise suddenly comes through the headphones (some sort of buzzing noise) and it only makes this noise when the headphone vol. is 0. When I try to play music I hear nothing through the headphones when the volume is open and when I close it, I immediately get this buzz. It's not the headphones, I know that, and when I restart my laptop the noise is gone. Does anyone know what this is?

    Also (another problem) when I enable 4 fx units in Traktor, the cpu load suddenly goes through the roof. I this normal?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    What are your computer specs, and what latency settings are you using for the controller?
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Asus laptop Pentium Dualcore 2.10 GHz
    RAM 4GB
    Windows 7 32 bit

    My latency settings:
    the number next to the latency bar says 256
    below the bar it says 5.8 ms overall latency

    I don't know if my latency is really high or low, I just never changed it, because Traktor always ran smoothly. However when I installed & imported a new MIDI mapping today (Tekken Mapping) Traktor suddenly became a lot slower. I deleted the mapping, but it was still slow. It turned out it was the number of fx units that was causing it. When I changed it to 2 units instead of 4, everything was smooth again. Is it possible that the mapping caused this? Because before I never recall having problems with 4 units.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    You have quite a weak processor so you can't expect amazing performance. You may want to raise your latency to 10-15ms to ease the strain on your computer.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Yeah I know it's not great, but I find it weird that 2 extra fx units have such a big impact on the cpu load, it goes from running smooth to having the cpu all the way in the red.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    446

    Default

    If you don't scratch, you don't need your latency that low. As far as the feedback sound, I would start with reinstalling the driver. What version of Traktor?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Bear in mind also that some residual noise through the headphones is a common problem with the Digital Jockey 2. When I had mine it was only apparent when there was no track coming through the headphones.
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    37

    Default

    My Traktor version is 2.6.1
    Yeah some residual noise isn't a problem, but this is really loud, like I have to take off my headphones or it'll hurt my ears.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    446

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CasperW93 View Post
    My Traktor version is 2.6.1
    Yeah some residual noise isn't a problem, but this is really loud, like I have to take off my headphones or it'll hurt my ears.
    The same thing was happening with S4's on 2.6.1. Update or roll back and see if it helps.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mannheim / Germany
    Posts
    305

    Default

    try increasing the latency. 10 ms are common.


    MacBookPro 11,1 | i5 2,4GHz | 16 GB RAM | 256 GB SSD
    MacOSX 10.14.x | TraktorPro 3.x | VCI-100 SE FW 1.4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •