Need help with a first budget set up
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need help with a first budget set up

Alright, so if this thread needs to be moved or there is already a recent one with this information please take action accordingly.

So I am interested in being a DJ in college. I would start out by doing some house parties for free or very low charge just to get out there and actually do something. I have a few things I need help with...

I need to know how much I can get a good budget set up for and what it would include. I was thinking the following:

1) Laptop (already own, MacBook Pro)
    2) 2 PA speakers (12" or 15"?)
    3) Sub (active or passive with amp?)
    4) DJ controller
    5) Some cables
    6) Headphones (already own, Pioneer HDJ-1500)

I'm brand new to DJing and I've just been messing around with Mixxxer on my laptop. I am really into car audio and some home audio, so it's not like I am brand new to the whole music/speakers thing haha. I just have a love for music and want to play some good tunes for other people.

Thanks for any help!

I wouldn't worry about a sub just yet, not all controllers have outputs for subs. couple of second hand M-audio or KRK monitors will do you fine. And those can be plugged straight into most controllers with an onboard soundcard.
    For a good cheap mixer i'd look at the Reloop digital jockey 2 or a hercules RMX (or a similar controller) to start out with, both of which are decent, have all the functions on board you need to start out with and can be picked up on second hand sites for a very good price. make sure you buy one with an onboard soundcard, saves you the hassle of buying a seperate one and it's cheaper that way

good luck!