GoPro Live Stream
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default GoPro Live Stream

    Anyone have any experience streaming a DJ live using GoPro cameras? any website will work for me to be honest (livestream, ustream, youtube, livebeats, etc) I have 2 GoPro cameras and i was trying to start doing a live stream like Boiler Room but not using my laptops built-in camera for it or using it with the 2 GoPros

    Thanks
    Macbook Pro 13" | XONE 92 | Traktor Scratch Pro 2 | Audio 8 | (2) NI Kontrol X1 | Technics SL-1210 MK2 | Juno 106 | Adam A7x | BOSS DD7 | Soundbite XL Looper | +more

    soundcloud.com/kevinsantos @kevinsantosdj

  2. #2
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Santos10 View Post
    Anyone have any experience streaming a DJ live using GoPro cameras? any website will work for me to be honest (livestream, ustream, youtube, livebeats, etc) I have 2 GoPro cameras and i was trying to start doing a live stream like Boiler Room but not using my laptops built-in camera for it or using it with the 2 GoPros

    Thanks
    This might be exactly what you are looking for ...

    http://www.djtechtools.com/2012/10/0...casting-mixer/

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey/New York
    Posts
    744

    Default

    yea I saw that post a while back but $500 is a steep price tag looking for either something that wont cost me anything or a cheap alternative. The vestax also has a builtin sound card which I wouldn't need since I already have my sound card connected whenever I stream..any other suggestions
    Macbook Pro 13" | XONE 92 | Traktor Scratch Pro 2 | Audio 8 | (2) NI Kontrol X1 | Technics SL-1210 MK2 | Juno 106 | Adam A7x | BOSS DD7 | Soundbite XL Looper | +more

    soundcloud.com/kevinsantos @kevinsantosdj

  4. #4
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    yea I saw that post a while back but $500 is a steep price tag looking for either something that wont cost me anything or a cheap alternative. The vestax also has a builtin sound card which I wouldn't need since I already have my sound card connected whenever I stream..any other suggestions
    The Vestax IS a very cheap video mixer considering the features, ease of use and the benefit you will have a single USB cam and audio input from your master > video mix, which means everything will sync correctly on screen.

    Cheapest Software Based solution to multiple camera stream cast I could find is Wirecast @ $500

    However you also might be able to get away with a cheap video switcher box and a USB video capture dongle depending on the quality you want, Anything more than Composite Video and you are probably into spending $150+ for the video switcher alone, go-pro's would be complete overkill for that kind of setup mind you and you may as well go with $20 security cameras with composite outputs rather than paying for go-pro's as you'd be downscaling anyhow and you can get an entire DVR for under $200 which would be your switcher and cameras covered.

    Going HD route and you can spend less than $250 including HDMI cables, capture devices, cables etc ... but will have more spaghetti than the soprano's kitchen and still not have great quality screen output as you'll be downscaling to analogue.... Ideas of devices below.

    http://www.amazon.com/Apogee-HDMI-3x...=hdmi+switcher

    http://www.amazon.com/Cables-To-Go-2...video+switcher

    http://www.amazon.com/Mini-Composite...I+to+Composite

    http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-610-...eo+Capture+USB

    http://www.amazon.com/Zmodo-PKD-DK42...ecurity+camera

    Someone else might chime in with other options for you.
    Last edited by deevey; 08-26-2013 at 08:58 PM.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru antifmradio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NJ NYC
    Posts
    1,151

    Default

    if you want a lot of people to be able to VIEW your cast then you are not going to find it cheap
    i mean lets face it

    thats like saying "Hey Cablevision, why dont you have a free internet package because i only need it a couple hours a day."

    You will ALWAYS need to be riding on someones bandwidth for it to work

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Also check out http://camtwiststudio.com/ which can do multi cam switching. You can feed camtwist to Flash Media Encoder.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Also check out http://camtwiststudio.com/ which can do multi cam switching. You can feed camtwist to Flash Media Encoder.
    Completely forgot about this one and had it sitting on my computer for a hundred years and yes will work perfectly on pretty much every streaming website out there ! Just plug in your cameras via USB.

    Also you can do watermarking on the video stream (just like boiler room).

    Good call!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    701

    Default

    Camtwist is an amazing program and its completely free. Unfortunately the developer seems to have lost interest in updating it for a while but it will do a great job. Also another program to check out is 'Webcam Settings' in the App store which can help you fine tune your cameras settings such as zoom, auto focus, white balance and more!

  9. #9
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,764

    Default

    If you are using livestream, you can log in to your studio http://www.livestream.com/studio and switch between webcams.

    Im not sure about using a gopro as a webcam, but I use a Logitech c720 and it works fine. As far as sound goes, jsut use any soundcard you have available. I use my mbox.
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard johndavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Look on youtube there are loads of tutorials for this.

    The tricky part when have two video sources(or more) is mixing them "in the box", as most streaming options don't provide that feature by default. You could do a work around using some vj mixing software(resolume, vdmx, etc) in which you capture both cameras and mix them as you wish. The vj software will also let you overlay graphics on top in an extra layer if you so wish.

    Then, in your streaming site, you can use the output stream from the vj software.
    Beware, you might have some lag issues(especially if you have a slower machine) between the audio and video, but perhaps there are options to delay the sound so both are "synced".

    I'm about to do something like this in october and will be testing in upcoming days and will be sure to report back. I'm relatively confident with my thought process as I've done similar things before. Worth comes to worse I'll use one of my video mixers (and capture dongle on the streaming computer). I would lose HD but that's not a deal breaker.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •