Loudness War
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loudness War

Default Loudness War

Im studying to be an audio engineer and music producer in Stockholm, Sweden and the main thing we've been talking about has been the mastering process which have led to what we say is "the Loudness war". I've been reading around on this forum and on the blogg and i've found lots of mastering tricks to find that "delicious" distortion.

I've also read that good sound quality is a dealmaker in the electrodance world and i bet everyone has seen the Deadmau5 interview on youtube where he practically stomps on Dubstep cause of its audio and mastering. So basically what im asking and wondering about.. Are some of you guys actively working to end this "Loudness war"?

Tech Mentor

I'm not sure what DJ's can do to stop the loudness war, that's kinda up to the artist. I read recently that NIN is releasing two versions of their album a shitty loud version for cd and iTunes and an audiophile version. I'm not sure who's still waiting for a new Nine Inch Nails album but having more choices for the fans is always a good thing.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/8/28/46...sitation-marks

Tech Wizard

This has only ever been an issue for people who are too lazy to adjust the volume.

Tech Mentor

Quote Originally Posted by R01 View Post
    This has only ever been an issue for people who are too lazy to adjust the volume.
    Its not about overall volume, its about dynamic range and the fact that many producer compress the crap out of everything leaving no peaks and troughs, but BLAMMM all the way.

http://dynamicrangeday.co.uk/

Tech Mentor

When I get home, I'll link an article regarding the loudness war in drum and bass and how it's hurt the music. It became about engineering rather than creativity. Tunes are squashed and compressed to shit. It's all mid bass and absent of sub bass. There's been a somewhat successful movement against it recently.

Quote Originally Posted by iambiggles View Post