Total Newbie Needs Help Getting Started
    Tech Wizard

Default Total Newbie Needs Help Getting Started

Hi All.

This is my situation.

I have recorded music before, but I am a guitarist and I literally played guitar and a friend would take care of the rest. I have Logic Express and an iMac and a brand new macbook pro (I don’t know the specifics offhand, but it’s a good one), I have recorded my own tracks using podfarm and guitar rig. I understand music (To a certain degree) so I am not totally clueless.

This is where I am lost....

I want to start making Drum & bass, (I know it’s a massive jump from recording rock music) and this is where I am lost. You see, I am used to amplifiers, guitars and pedal boards, where as now it seems to be drum machines and samplers.

I have been searching Google high and low, but without prior knowledge of producing electronic music, it is all very confusing.

Based on the research I have done, I like the look of Native Instruments Maschine. It seems to be a one stop shop for everything.

I understand I will probably need some kind of midi keyboard, but I would just like to know if Maschine is a good starting point for somebody like me making Drum & Bass?

Is there any books or online tutorials I should look up?

Any Advice and help would be very helpful at this stage.

Thanks,

Mattalik
    2 x CDJ2000 Nexus, 2x Technics 1210 M5G, 2 x Technics 1210 Mk2, Allen & Heath DB4, 15" Macbook Pro Retina, Traktor A10....And A Shitload Of Records!

It sounds like a good plan. Drum and Bass is based off of sampling breakbeats and resequencing them, so Maschine is a great idea.

Tech Wizard

Will machine allow me to add bass, synth and fx etc?
    2 x CDJ2000 Nexus, 2x Technics 1210 M5G, 2 x Technics 1210 Mk2, Allen & Heath DB4, 15" Macbook Pro Retina, Traktor A10....And A Shitload Of Records!

Quote Originally Posted by Mattalik View Post
    Will machine allow me to add bass, synth and fx etc?