Advice for DJing College Parties
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Advice for DJing College Parties

A bit unsure if this is the place to ask this, but I'll post it anyway. If this is the wrong forum for this, I apologize.

So I'm entering the world of DJing in college, naturally I'd start at college parties. However my first couple of gigs have been interesting. First two gigs I consider failures due to tech issues, but when I was DJing a bit I played only Progressive and Electro House (it was and still kind of is all I got). Noticed some people got into it, but at the same time I realized I may have mixed too quickly and later when I switched to a Top 40 playlist the floor became packed. Not exactly a good start for a new guy...

Anyway, my last gig I started playing Top 40 remixes almost exclusively. I usually played them end to end since I assumed people would like to hear all the verses. I didn't get many people on the dance floor, and when I was down to one couple I just said "Fuck it" and switched into Prog. House. The party itself was just weird in atmosphere for there to be a DJ so I'd say that was part of the issue.

This leads me to my question.

For college parties/bar scene I'd assume you'd want to play Top 40s and remixes, but for how long? I can't tell if playing them end to end would cut it or be an issue for the crowd and bore them. When should/can I transition into more traditional EDM? On two occasions I've had people ask for Trap, which I don't have and can't even figure out why or how I'd mix it in with Top 40s.

Basically any advice for a beginner to keep a decent flow with a crowd of college students would be much appreciated.