Is Firewire 400 Dead?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor JelaniRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    126

    Default Is Firewire 400 Dead?

    Hey, I am currently looking to upgrade past the USB sound card and go Firewire. The only issue is that i'm maxin' out an iBook G4 and the only Firewire port is the 400, not the current 800. Does anyone know of a decent sound card in the $200 range that uses a Firewire 400 connection, and RCA outs.

  2. #2

    Default

    an adapter wont work? i use it the other way round, but thats probably easier!

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor JelaniRobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    126

    Default

    I didn't know if it would dramatically effect the latency, not power the sound card, or just not be compatible with a downgraded machine. But will it work?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    947

    Default

    firebox, its in the tags lol. do a search if you haven't heard of it.

    i don't think you'll run into many (if any cards yet) that are FW 800 or FW 800 only.
    We don't believe in the star system. We want the focus to be on the music. If we have to create an image, it must be an artificial image. That combination hides our physicality and also shows our view of the star system. It is not a compromise-daftpunk

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Buy a Presonus Firebox and be happy ever after. Seriously
    it has Firewire 400 connections 6 pin). So has your iBook.

    Your done.



    Karlos
    Last edited by Karlos Santos; 10-04-2009 at 11:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    An 800 to 400 adapter won't effect latency at all.

  7. #7
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    those firewire 400 cables fall out sooooooooo easy, its horrible >_<
    Wouldnt recommend using them for djing personally :\

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    The 6-circuit like the Presonus are fine. Its the 4-circuit alpha that fall out.
    Bad design.

    Im hoping that the 9-circuit is more sturdy as thats what is in the new Macbook Pros and im due an upgrade.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Is Firewire 400 Dead?

    if you're getting a firebox (which I fully reccommend), do yourself a favor and get a firewire cable from apple. they will click-lock into your port, the one that came with my firebox was quite loose
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djhipnotikk View Post
    if you're getting a firebox (which I fully reccommend), do yourself a favor and get a firewire cable from apple. they will click-lock into your port, the one that came with my firebox was quite loose
    Absolutely spot on the fucking money.

    Ive given the exact same advice on the NI forum .
    Those Apple cables are unbelievably secure. The one you get with the Firebox was thrown in the spares box immediately.

    Karlos

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •