Complete Newbie

Thread: Complete Newbie

Default Complete Newbie

Hi everyone!

As the title suggests I am complete newbie in the DJ field! Always had a very keen interest in music and also the mixing of music together. I've always been interested in how the tracks are made, and with the use of sound cloud love listening to other people's mixes they've created.

Anyway, so much so I have picked up a second hand CD Mixer. I have no prior experience with DJ'ing but would really love to have a go at mixing songs, playing about with songs and even recording some of my own mixes.

I have picked the mixer up today, it is a Numark ICDMIX3 http://www.numark.com/product/icdmix3 The only fault with it is that it has on of the sliders missing off the CH1 display- photo attached:

Otherwise its in really good condition and it only cost me £115, have seen on ebay they don't go for less than £200!
    I have a few questions if someone could help me?

- Is there a "best" way to learning about mixing songs into each other or is it just trial and error?
    -What components will I need, at the moment I realise I only need headphones to listen to the music I am mixing, but can I link this up to my Bose Sound dock (understand this isn't the best speaker for this) for louder sound via aux?
    -What components will I need to link this to my laptop eventually, as I have heard that you can use software such as Virtual DJ on my laptop. Otherwise I will use the laptop link to mix music off my laptop if that's possible?
    - Does the slider missing on this device mean that I am going to miss out on huge features, also can it be repaired?

As I said I'm completely new to this and want to have a real go at it! So I apologise if the questions are very vague or sound simple!

Thanks in advance and look forward to getting started!

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by targett View Post
    I have a few questions if someone could help me?