Possible to control DVS system from Kontrol S4 via DJ Tech DIF-1S Mixer?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default Possible to control DVS system from Kontrol S4 via DJ Tech DIF-1S Mixer?

    Hi guys,

    I'm currently using a Kontrol S4 as a mixer and 2 Technics 1210 mk2s.

    Was thinking of getting a DJ Tech DIF-1S mixer to cut on versus using the Kontrol S4's crossfader

    But because I'm not using a NI Sound Card (Audio 6/10) and I'm relying on Kontrol S4's soundcard to control TSP2,

    Is there anyway for me to somehow hook up the S4 to the DIF-1s, so that I can use TSP2 from the S4 while relying solely on the DIF-1s for mixing as per normal?


    TLDR: Would it be possible to use S4 as a DVS Sound Card only, and the DIF-1s as the main mixer (controlling volume, eq, crossfader etc as per normal)?
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

  2. #2
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    only if you got a couple of rca splitters and ran traktor in mono and split the signal "if you can even do that". A cheap option could be an audio 2 to run the output to the mixer, but with the price of audio 4/8 on ebay you may as well just buy used.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Yes, you can use the S4 in the same way as an Audio 4 DJ. There is no need for splitters or running in mono.

    Use External Mixing mode and send Deck A output to Phones, and Deck B output to Master. Connect these two to your mixer channels, and connect the 1210s to your S4 inputs.

    Everything should continue to work as normal on the S4, except for the volume and cross faders which will be disabled.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  4. #4
    Tech Guru synthet1c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    is the headphone output equal to the master out? I was thinking of that but so many controllers nurf the output of the headphones as you generally don't need to blast the signal to your phones.
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Headphone outputs shouldn't have any trouble driving a line input. Line outputs are the ones that struggle to drive headphones as they aren't designed to supply significant current.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    189

    Default

    Thank you guys! So basically,

    Kontrol S4
    1. Deck A output to Master (RCA-RCA)
    2. Deck B output to Phones (1/4" TRS to RCA converter)
    3. Connect them as audio inputs to DIF-1s

    DIF-1s
    1. As per normal use

    Am I right? i guess if there are problems with gain I could adjust on the DIF-1s as per normal.
    2 x Technics 1210 / 2 x Stanton ST150 / Shure M44-7 / Kontrol S4 / KRK Rokit 5 / AIAIAI TM-1 / Westone 1 / HP dv6-6105TX

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •