[Other] Transition Lengths / Feedback on Mix
    Tech Student

Default Transition Lengths / Feedback on Mix

Hi, total newb here fiddling around with Ableton in his spare time.

Just wanted to ask how acceptable are quick, one-bar-long transitions? I rarely find myself with the opportunity to gracefully mix 2 songs together (even in the same key) without completely weird chords clashing. As an example (http://www.mixcloud.com/louietyj/mix-3/), the only transitions I can use longer than 2 bars are:

1. 4:03-4:18
    [A#] Jessie J – It’s My Party / [Gm] La Roux – In For The Kill
    (Admittedly half the chords do clash, but doesn’t sound that bad so…)
    2. 11:27-11:42
    [A#] Britney Spears – How I Roll / [A#] E-Rotic – Turn Me On
    3. 15:08-15:15
    [A#] Alexandra Stan – Bitter-Sweet / [Gm] A7 – Love Forever More
    4. 25:20-25:34
    [Am] Rita Ora – Love And War / [Dm] Christina Aguilera – Bionic
    5. 41:36-42:04
    [F] Iyaz – So Big / [F] Rihanna – We Found Love (Calvin Harris Extended Mix)
    6. 45:09-45:45
    [F] Rihanna – We Found Love (Calvin Harris Extended Mix) / [F] Katy Perry – Hot N Cold

#5 and #6 barely even count as the only part I used from Rihanna is a thumping drum without any notes. Obviously this list doesn’t include “transitions” such as 33:44-34:01 (what’s this called…) and 13:42-13:56 / 36:02-36:18 (2 or 3 segments of the same song playing simultaneously).

From trolling the forums, a generally acceptable transition between 2 tracks is something like 16 bars long. For a track list of 26 songs, 6 transitions (2 debatable) lasting more than 2 bars… So how acceptable is this?

(Other feedback on the mix appreciated too! Track list at http://pastebin.com/cAHZdLpC. Thanks )