bass frequencies and how to normalise
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default bass frequencies and how to normalise

    i am currently making a new mix at the moment which minimal and i am having a really hard time keeping the bass at the same level.
    for exemple i am making a 10 tracks mix.
    some songs for instance have different bass level and sound how to do normalise the bass level during the whole mix as to keep it as the same level during the whole mix.

    thanks for the help

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,410

    Default

    is it the bass, or the actual track volume that you are having trouble with?
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    " Iím the Dude, so thatís what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if youíre not into the whole brevity thing. "

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default

    hi, the bass mostly all the tracks have the same sound level.

  4. #4
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    When your cuing up your tracks you want to adjust your bass EQ knob to get the bass levels equal. Use the Cue Mix knob to change between the track that is playing and the track that is being cued up to get the bass frequencies to around the same level.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default

    i see thx a lot bento always quick on the reply its impressive.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default

    just to clarify, it could do this process using ableton and have a limiter to kick in in for instance during the whole time
    thats the smart mixing thread u posted a while ago yes?

  7. #7
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jd62 View Post
    just to clarify, it could do this process using ableton and have a limiter to kick in in for instance during the whole time
    thats the smart mixing thread u posted a while ago yes?
    The best way to do this is by hand as i explained above.

    The smartmixer doesn't do this no, the smartmixer just makes sure the only one track is dominating the bass frequencies or the high band frequencies at any one given point in time utilizing side chain compression. Its still up the user to make sure that the levels are equal to one another to begin with - Moldover pre EQ's his material before hand to achieve this, but if your not mixing the same tracks together all the time as moldover does its better to handle this live.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default

    thx bento for the explanations really helpful as usual.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor LiveFastStephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Anaheim Hills, CA, Lake Havasu, Az, & Las Vegas, Nv
    Posts
    332

    Default

    id say get out of yr headphones, &listen more to your booth speakers
    then bring the incoming bass to the right level /as to all the way up for every track.

    or remaster your bad tracks to sound better.

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    83

    Default

    thanks for the input stephen,
    will follow your advices and try it out. ;-)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •