DVS Timecode for any soundcard?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default DVS Timecode for any soundcard?

    Hi,

    I have recently moved from a controller setup to a forming dvs setup. I have turntables and a mixer, but i dont want to have to spend 200+ on a new soundcard for traktor as I already have a perfectly good soundcard which i use for producing. (Its an Echo AudioFire 4 if thats any help) Can i change the executable file in the traktor folder (Mac OS X) using a hex editor to eliminate having to buy a traktor soundcard as well? Ive seen videos on how to do it with a Xone DB4 but i dont know if this works with this specific soundcard or any other one. Im also planning on buying a Focusrite 2i4 to replace the Echo if its not possible with that one.

    Cheers guys

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    3,428

    Default

    Your sound card doesn't have the correct inputs (phono level).
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB


  3. #3
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Welcome.

    Instead of spending 150 on the Focusrite and using a cracked and hacked copy if Traktor Scratch Pro.
    Why don't you save the 150, sell the Echo and use the money buy the Traktor Audio 6 that comes with Traktor Scratch Pro and all the required components at 250 and do it the legal way instead of being a cheat.

    A little thought, effort and bit more money will get you a quality setup instead of a cracked, dodgy setup.

    Food for thought.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    Karlos nailed it. Sell the Echo and get an A6.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Some of the DVS software can work with any soundcard. And you can get by without a phono preamp if the software allows it and the soundcard is good quality, which yours will be.

    If you're adventurous you could try the open-source DVS on Linux (it's free), called xwax.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •