Traktor Key Detection
    Tech Wizard

Default Traktor Key Detection

Hey ALL,

I have just recently got Traktor Pro 2 I have just analysed all my tracks. I see Traktor has its own open key system e.g. 1d, 2d etc.

I added two fields to the browser, both the Key and Key Tex field. What I'm confused about is that they don't seem to be matching. For example when I sort by Key Text field, there are numerous different open keys opposite it in the Key column. E.g Amin has some of 1m, 2m, 3m, 4m, 8m, 12m. So I'm confused as to how these can all be categorised as A minors.

Shouldn't each one have a different key? Such as 1m=Amin 2m=Emin. I'm just confused how so many open keys can fall under Amin? Its happening on all keys, just using the Amin key as en example.

I'm new to harmonics and keys so maybe im looking at this in the wrong way? I thought I had understood it by looking at the various charts/ wheels but this has me confused. Would really appreciate advise from somebody who knows.

Thanks a million.

Tech Mentor

They are the same, just with different notations. 8A=1m, 8B=1d. They just differ with the value 7 and A=m and B=d. If you analyse your tracks in MIK first, Traktor will take the MIK key, that's why they are the same.

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by Scalage View Post
    They are the same, just with different notations. 8A=1m, 8B=1d. They just differ with the value 7 and A=m and B=d. If you analyse your tracks in MIK first, Traktor will take the MIK key, that's why they are the same.
    Thanks a lot for the reply. Ok so I get that A=m and B=d. What I don't understand is how one traktor open key can have many scales. If you look at the attached traktor key chart, there are 12 major keys (d) and 12 minor keys (m).

Each of these 24 open keys have there own specific scale e.g 1d= C , 2d= D, 3d=G.