Playing a club for the first time
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Playing a club for the first time

Hey guys, I will play my first club gig soon.
    At home I'm a scratch pro user with cdj850k.
    If I go to the club (it's a professional club, no hobby thing), do I have to bring my traktor multi cores ?
    Or is my laptop plus interface (A8) and the timecodes fine?
    Since I've never done it before, I just wanted to know what's the standard.
    Thanks a lot for ur experienced replies!

Cheeers

Do you not like using the CDjs on their own?

You still need to bring whatever cables you would use. I would bring my own multi-cores if I use timecode.

↯↯ OFFICIAL SITE // MY SETUP ↯↯

Tech Wizard

You should check with the club and make sure that they're alright with you unplugging their gear first. All you should need to bring are a few RCA cables to go from the A8 into the club's mixer and just run the RCAs they have normally going into the mixer into your soundcard. If you want to go through the hassle of unplugging and rewiring more stuff, bring the multicores.

Tech Wizard

Here's the thing, if you take your stuff you better make sure there is enough space in that booth, I cannot tell you how many times I've DJ'ed up to 6 hours in a booth the size of a porta-potty. If they have CDJs(which they should) then I would recommend just using that without a laptop; a good DJ can mix songs, it takes a great DJ to conform to what ever equipment is in front of them in order for them to mix. I've seen DJ's, who use laptops, where the laptop crashes on them during their sets and it literally KILLS the whole vibe of the night; laptops are not safe!