New to iTunes - looking for ways to sync metadata

Default New to iTunes - looking for ways to sync metadata

After 2 years doing intensive 'crate digging' without a proper system to categorize my collection, I decided to put an end to that chaos and want to organize my library with a system thats useful to me - thanks to DJTT, I read some useful articles and forum posts here, that gave me an idea how do do that efficiently.

Because of the smart playlists and the Traktor integrability I decided to use iTunes which, lacking a mac and having no need for it before, I have no experience using it so far. So far so good, it's quite easy to use and I already started to tidy up the mess. Usually I edit playlists and prepare / tag tracks on my home computer.

Today I had the idea that the homesharing feature might be useful to work with my library whereever I take my Thinkpad. So I installed iTunes on my Laptop, enabled homesharing. Right after importing my playlists I noticed: It is not possible to edit ID3 tags on my pc using my notebook - it seems that only purchasing iTunes match will allow me to sync the metadata. I don't have to intention to pay 25€/yr just to sync my metadata (I'm not interested in a cloud storage for my music).

So I am looking for a workaround. Ping pong copying the tracks between the two machines whenever I have to update/sync metadata doesn't seem very fail-safe. I already tried to find if there are certain scripts that allow iTunes to do so, which wasn't really successful.

Is there a way to use iTunes the way I want, or is iTunes match the only proper solution?

edit: Learning a bit more about iTunes I noticed that I can solve that by setting up a media server that contains the iTunes music collection, so both machines have access to the same files/filestructure, allowing me to edit the metadata from where I wan't.

Didn't come to my mind that this should be theoretically possible. Will look out for a solution that fits my needs.