Used DJM 900 or 2000? Your thoughts, please!

Default Used DJM 900 or 2000? Your thoughts, please!

Hey guys,

New to the forum, show some love. Anyway I've recently been thinking about transitioning from producing to doing more DJ'ing and looking at some used DJM's online. I've found (what I think) is a great deal on a DJM 2000 for $1600, or I could go with a 900 Nexus for about $1400. Both are used but claim to be in pristine condition.

So taking price into consideration, and the fact that I'm a complete noob at this stuff (other than the fact that I've been producing for a little bit), what are your thoughts? I've seen many talk down the 2000 and it looks like most clubs use the 900 these days from what I've seen.

Just looking for a little guidance here from some of the more experienced folks out there.

thanks!

I was making the same decision a while ago. I went with the 900 nexus because is the industry standard, is a bit cheaper and has a built in traktor soundcard. If you are planning on DJing with traktor time code (turntables or cdjs) I would definitely recommend the 900. You can just show up to the club, plug in a usb from the mixer into your laptop and you're good to go.
    Maschine Routine with live musicians
    http://youtu.be/ubEQZSvocto
    fb: http://www.facebook.com/djizn

thank you that is very helpful. I'm definitely going to be using CDJ's since they're used everywhere and are also the industry standard. I didn't know the 2000 didn't come with Traktor, so that certainly steers me toward the 900 nexus even more.

thank you!!

Tech Guru

The 900 does not come with Traktor; it just has a Traktor timecode compatible sound card inside.

You might want to start with something simpler before investing in a CDJ/DJM setup, especially if you've never mixed before.
    VCM100 / X1 / DJM250 / DJM900 / CDJ2000s / Maschine / Audio2+4 / 2i4 / HS8s / TSP 2.6.8
    Macbook Air i7-3667U+8GB 10.9 / Win7x64 i5-3570k+24GB