Getting paid for DJing.
    Tech Wizard

Default Getting paid for DJing.

How many of you DJ for a living or even get paid for every gig you do?

I thought this topic was interesting cause I am an amateur DJ that only started getting paid recently for my gigs and I have been DJing for 2 years now. I only started gigging a year after but did practice playing for some house parties. It have came to my thought wondering how some people get paid so much for these gigs they do regularly and only been DJing for a short period of time. What bugs me most is their skills, as much as I love their track selections but how can one be syncing/premixing their whole set be look upon as a pro? (Who am I to judge though, maybe they are good...)

I was blown away by the money they make regularly when they told me about it. I then told them I gigged for free but want to be paid for DJing in the future. I gigged for free cause it was what I loved doing. I enjoy playing music for people and I love that feeling you get when you rock the dance floor...

Let's hear your thoughts!

PS, this is my first contribution to the forum as I have been lurking for years now and I am generally not a talkative person.

I've pretty much been paid for every gig I've done for 18 years. I've done a couple of family birthdays for no money, but normally paid a bottle of Canadian Club for the night instead. For about a year or 2 I was only working as a DJ, working every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, but I found that even though I was clearing a decent amount of money each week I was spending it all on my days off!