Help Buy Equipment

Default Help Buy Equipment

Hello,
    I've always been passionate about DJing and music production. I've finally got money to spend and get into the next level.
    Which is the best setup/which setup gives me more options?

1) kontrol s2 and mashine
    2) kontrol s4 and maschine mikro
    3) kontrol s2, maschine mikro and kontrol f1

ps. I don't have space/mobility problems.

Thank you very very much for the help.

I'd say with the options listed there you'd have a solid platform for DJ'ing and a Maschine/Maschine Mikro will provide plenty of options for performances (Think finger drumming/Loops etc) and combining anything you can do with DJ'ing from the S4/S2 and traktor synced up with a Maschine/Mikro is a lot of fun.

Im no production Wizard but some may say you might want to use another DAW to produce with alongside Maschine. It's each to their own however, and i use my Maschine mainly to make Loops/Patterns that i have synced up with traktor, rather than full scale productions.

You can also drag and drop patterns from Maschine to traktor to use with an F1 if you'd rather, though having a maschine negates the need for an F1 as you can do everything an F1 can do and hell of a lot more!

Personally i'd go for the S4/Maschine mikro.
    A+H DB4, Technics 1210's x2, F1, X1MK2 x2, MaschineMk2, Akai LPK 25, MF3D, XDJ-1000 x2.

DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar

Gear question = Gear sub forum

Tech Mentor

Why do you limit yourself to equipment from native instruments? The S2 and S4 in particular have pretty poor build quality. Also from the maschine standpoint, going with the mikro will leave you longing for a lot more very shortly. Most people wished they went for the mk2 instead of the mikro because the mikro is so limited. There really is nothing wrong with maschine as a production tool, but some people want something more sophisticated and end up with Ableton or Komplete.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalage View Post