Traktor won't show up the Key
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard PVSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    33

    Default Traktor won't show up the Key

    Hey Guys,

    i just looked up the Keys of my Tracks with Keyfinder and put the Keys in the Tags with Beatport Pro. The Problem is that Traktor won't show up the Keys

    Here is Beatport Pro:


    And here is Traktor:



    I even tried to write the Keys in the Comment Tag, but Traktor won't show them too.


    best regards

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor deathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Try re-analyzing your tracks, and set it to special and just the BPM or gain or something... I find that if Traktor already has the tags loaded, it doesn't refresh them. I think it might also work to check the consistency of the tracks, but I'm at work right now so can't verify.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    I use MIK to add the BPM and Key info to the beginning of the filename, then use MP3Tag to add that info to the tags. I ONLY add the key info to the "Album" tag, and the BPM info to the "Trak Number" tag.


    Might sound a little odd, but it's always worked perfectly with whatever software I've used.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default

    I'm a little annoyed that Traktor uses 9m instead of 9a, for example (open notation?). Unless, of course, this is just a setting I have enabled/disabled.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    477

    Default

    It's not the same though, 8m=1A for instance. They can't use the camelot wheel since it's licensed by MIK. Why? I have no idea. It's a million year old system that's simply named differently. It's like calling the CDJ a Spinstation and then sueing everybody who uses your layout. Even though you nicked the layout from Pioneer. It's that stupid.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    You don't always need to re-analyse you just need to load a track for Traktor to read the tag.

    You can change how the key is displayed in Preferences > Analyse Options

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, USA
    Posts
    782

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    I use MIK to add the BPM and Key info to the beginning of the filename, then use MP3Tag to add that info to the tags. I ONLY add the key info to the "Album" tag, and the BPM info to the "Trak Number" tag.


    Might sound a little odd, but it's always worked perfectly with whatever software I've used.
    So do you ever analyze your tracks in Traktor or just go off the tag info in the browser?

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scalage View Post
    It's not the same though, 8m=1A for instance. They can't use the camelot wheel since it's licensed by MIK. Why? I have no idea. It's a million year old system that's simply named differently. It's like calling the CDJ a Spinstation and then sueing everybody who uses your layout. Even though you nicked the layout from Pioneer. It's that stupid.
    I'm sure you know this but The Camelot Wheel uses a circle of fifths with 'E major' and numbers instead of keys. Thing is this is enough of a difference for it to be copyrighted. Go figure.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,468

    Default

    So do you ever analyze your tracks in Traktor or just go off the tag info in the browser?
    I NEVER analyse my tracks for key in Traktor. Only MIK, and take the key info from the browser.

    I also add the key info into the deck header (from the Tag) in Traktor.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    477

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    I'm sure you know this but The Camelot Wheel uses a circle of fifths with 'E major' and numbers instead of keys. Thing is this is enough of a difference for it to be copyrighted. Go figure.
    I do know about the circle of fifths. And this is what I don't understand. In piano books there are a meriad of versions of it, some with two layers, some with three (to show the diminished scale) and none of them are such greedy assholes as MIK. None of them are copyrighted with special notations.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •