How can I record my mixes to my computer without using Traktor?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor kbridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    181

    Default How can I record my mixes to my computer without using Traktor?

    Hey guys

    trying to connect my Pioneer XDJ R1 to my laptop (using RCA to 1/8 inch jack) so that I can record, but when I've gone from booth out to mic in on my laptop the recording sounds horrible, distant and tinny, how can I fix this/what am I doing wrong?

    alternatively, is there a way to record through USB without using traktor as well?

    Cheers!
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor kbridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    181

    Default

    As a side note, I also own Ableton and just tried recording through there, which worked okay, but there was some background noise when listening back through it - this ALMOST solved my issue, any idea on why the hiss is there?
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Kwal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,066

    Default

    You can record into Audacity, it's what I do and it works fine.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor kbridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    181

    Default

    but how?

    I have tried connecting my laptop to my decks via the booth out, but the recordings end up with poor quality, what am I doing wrong?
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    2,122

    Default

    Your laptop sound card is not good.

    Buy a Behnringer UCA202 for 30 bucks and record using that.
    Bedroom DJ | Pioneer DJM-800 | Pioneer CDJ2000 and CDJ900-NXS | 2 x Mackie MR8MKII | Sennheiser Amperior

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    365

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SlvrDragon50 View Post
    Your laptop sound card is not good.

    Buy a Behnringer UCA202 for 30 bucks and record using that.
    this! it's your input giving you grief.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Kwal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,066

    Default

    You sure you have the settings set up right? Make sure to go to Audio and set the mic jack to input not output. You could possibly be recording the sound via your computers external mic.

    But probably sound card issues

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor kbridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Okay, so now I've connected the booth output into the input of my Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 sound card, and it's now only recording out of the left channel, can't seem to get stereo now..
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    365

    Default

    are you connecting to two inputs on the focusrite?

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor kbridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    181

    Default

    ahh no? should I be running RCA from Booth output to both inputs in the focusrite?
    "We think too much and feel too little"
    K B R I D G E

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •