Merging 2 computers traktor settings
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default Merging 2 computers traktor settings

    Hi

    My brother and I DJ together and before a gig we spend time apart as well as together preparing for gigs.

    If we both download 20 tracks, import into traktor, set cue points and beat grid the tracks, how can we merge the info from the whole 40 tracks onto the one laptop that we use for the gig?

    I have searched but cannot find any info on this......

    Thanks in advance for any assistance.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Hmmm. I'm not sure that you can. Traktor gets its information from the collection.nml file saved on each hard drive. As far as I know it will only read from one file so it's not just as simple as saving the collection file from each laptop into the new location.
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kooper1980 View Post
    Hmmm. I'm not sure that you can. Traktor gets its information from the collection.nml file saved on each hard drive. As far as I know it will only read from one file so it's not just as simple as saving the collection file from each laptop into the new location.
    Yeah, you can either have two separate libraries, or two exactly the same libraries.


    You cant sync two different libraries without having to reimport the tracks AFAIK.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor deathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    I thought if you exported a playlist as an NML that, upon importing, it would give you the option of also importing all the markers and such too?

    This should do what you want, if I am right in my understanding of that functionality.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru 3heads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leipzig, Germany
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    Cue points and beat grids are saved in the ID3 tags, iirc. You might have to analyze them yet again when importing though, so better lock them beforehand.
    13,3" MacBookPro (Mid 2012) # 2x Technics 1210 # NI Audio 8 DJ # Ecler Nuo 2.0 # NI Traktor Kontrol X1 # Sennheiser HD-25
    http://soundcloud.com/vincent-lebaron/

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deathy View Post
    I thought if you exported a playlist as an NML that, upon importing, it would give you the option of also importing all the markers and such too?

    This should do what you want, if I am right in my understanding of that functionality.
    Choose the option "Import tags from file" (or something like that) rather than "Import from Playlist". Can't quite remember the exact wording but you get the drift.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Brilliant!

    Thanks everyone, it definitely gives me something to try when i get home.

    Many Thanks

  8. #8

    Default

    you sync your time clocks together.. so they got tick tock together.

    Dj Izn and I did it a couple times.

  9. #9

    Default

    Oh, I read that wrong. Looks like you got your answer though. My bad, sorry. Have a good day .

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •