The Future of Digital DJing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default The Future of Digital DJing

Hey all, I've been pondering this for a few months now and would love your feedback. I DJ all types of events, but mostly weddings (about 60 per year) and I quite often practice/DJ in my home studio with a full setup when I'm not out at an event so I can stay sharp. I typically use a couple laptops and midi controller (Native Traktor Kontrol S4 MK2, TKZ1 and TKX1 MK1).

I have come across a DJ software for the Android (Cross DJ) platform and have been experimenting with it at home. It is freaking cool and does SOOOO much. I can loop, sync, add effects etc.. all the same stuff we can do as DJs with our midi controllers.

What do you think the future of DJing is? I've always been a forward thinker in this area ( I went to digital DJing back in 2002 when all my competition was still using CD's and even cassette tapes??) and I see it going to smaller setups. I can see ipads and tablets being used more and more. I can connect a 2TB hard drive to my phone dude. Would you ever give consideration to DJing with a tablet or iPad and dumping laptops altogether? I would always have 2 of them setup for more versatility, but they can plug right into your mixer then out to speakers.

I don't know, just thinking about the future of DJing I guess..

Im excited about the S8 from NI to come out and the possibility of purchasing a unit if not too expensive. I recently came across the Novation Twitch and needless to say Im very impressed with it. I think the Twitch is way ahead of its time. If I knew what I wanted as far as dj'ing goes I may have purchased a Twitch instead of my current setup of a DJ Tech X10, X1-MK2 and F1 I may still go the Twitch route. I think the future of djing is indeed to smaller all in one jogless devices with touch strips and screens. I hope as units get smaller the price gets cheaper.
    Last edited by bc6; 10-05-2014 at 02:17 PM.