Windows 8 is sh1t!!! - Page 4
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 76
  1. #31
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Yep, i just reinstalled Win 7 Pro on my SSD using the "windows on a stick" tool
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  2. #32
    Tech Mentor daviedavedave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    392

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ View Post
    It takes 5 minutes to make it behave like 7, and you dont need to install a start menu replacer if you dont want.

    Just uninstall all of the Metro apps through PC settings, and then with the exception of the start screen, programs and windows should behave almost the same.

    8 is actually a pretty good improvement over 7.
    Good to know!
    SC - WS

  3. #33
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Era7
    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ
    Making a usb win8 boot is so trivial I cant understand why you are having difficulties.
    this. microsoft even provides a tool to create bootable USBs and DVDs.
    The Microsoft tool doesn't work with OEM installs of WIn 8/Win 8.1 - but there are a couple of work arounds. I ended up "acquiring" an ISO of a Win 8.1 installer, and made a bootable USB using Rufus. The installer uses the OEM serial that is stored in teh BIOS - so it's all above board. I also had to change the boot order in the UEFI (BIOS) and enable legacy mode.

    Now I have a barebones Win 8.1 that I can definitely work with - I still wanna dump as much of the Metro stuff as I can, escpecially all teh live update stuff.

    I'm away from home for a week - but when I get back I'm gonna install Traktor and my DJM-850 drivers and go to town!

    My next thing is gonna be seeing if SSD is a suitable media for holding my Tracks...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #34
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    SSD ftw mate.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #35
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    The Microsoft tool doesn't work with OEM installs of WIn 8/Win 8.1 - but there are a couple of work arounds. I ended up "acquiring" an ISO of a Win 8.1 installer, and made a bootable USB using Rufus. The installer uses the OEM serial that is stored in teh BIOS - so it's all above board. I also had to change the boot order in the UEFI (BIOS) and enable legacy mode.

    Now I have a barebones Win 8.1 that I can definitely work with - I still wanna dump as much of the Metro stuff as I can, escpecially all teh live update stuff.

    I'm away from home for a week - but when I get back I'm gonna install Traktor and my DJM-850 drivers and go to town!

    My next thing is gonna be seeing if SSD is a suitable media for holding my Tracks...


    You can download the ISO freely from microsoft, and licence it with your serial. Though Im guessing you never actually got your serial, as its self contained in the OEM image.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...oduct-key-only

    You can find it with this process:

    http://www.nextofwindows.com/how-to-...key-from-bios/

  6. #36

    Default

    SSD is only way to go I'm running an Asus i7 quad 16gb Gtx Gfx 480gb ssd boot time under 15s. I've been using SSD DRIVES for djing with Tracks on it and have had no issues... SSD or no point buying a beefy laptop

  7. #37

    Default

    Been using a SSDs for 3 years for djing and it's been fine various laptops though and various drives

  8. #38
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ
    You can download the ISO freely from microsoft, and licence it with your serial. Though Im guessing you never actually got your serial, as its self contained in the OEM image.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...oduct-key-only
    That is exactly what you CANNOT do with an OEM install of WIN 8.1. Windows DOES NOT ACCEPT the OEM Product Key when using their install tool. But, it DOES accept the OEM Product Key when you do a fresh install using an orginal installer...

    Like I said - I got an ISO through "other" channels.

    But you're right re: the serial - it is not included anywhere in the documentation, or on a sticker on the nachine. I used a piece of software (can't remember the name) to find the OEM serial...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #39
    Tech Wizard Scoox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wuxi, China
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Skipping every other version of Windows has become a habit of mine. I am happy with W7, I don't see the need to upgrade.

  10. #40
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Patch, Magical Jellybean Finder

    https://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •