Common VCI-100 Firmware Questions
Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 174
  1. #1
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Question Common VCI-100 Firmware Questions

    How do I update my firmware?

    Please visit this post to learn how to update your firmware:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2008/08/1...-100-firmware/

    If you have problems please visit this thread:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...=7732#post7732


    Which firmware version does your VCi-100 have?
    Version 1.1
    the firmware with the "ramp up problem"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2Y509VQVEQ

    the jog wheel touch sensor turns off when the wheel stops turning, not when you release your finger.

    Version 1.2
    -VCI-100's with a green sticker on the back are firmware version 1.2
    - this version solved the ramp up problem but still has several bugs including
    * the fourth FX buttons send out the same midi message as the right headphone cue button.


    Version 1.3
    The firmware found in all VCi-100SE controllers that was designed by Ean Golden.

    You can tell if you have 1.3 by following these steps.

    1) connect your vci-100 to a computer but dont start traktor.

    2) Click the button that is at the top right hand corner of the left jog wheel (its next to the filter knob for deck A).

    3) If this button's light toggles on and off then you have 1.3 (the same button on the right deck will not toggle on and off.

    Here are a few of the changes made in 1.3

    general improvements:

    * Eliminated the problem where the 4th FX buttons trigger other buttons (cue)
    * added midi in functionality to the loop buttons
    * added a note on to the jog wheel in scroll mode

    performance:

    * turned the filter knobs into double knobs (0-127 on the left and right side)
    * added a "freeze function" to the bottom of each fader and top of the fx knobs. this sends out a 127 message only at the end of the movement
    * added inverted messages to the faders (this allows an effect to be turned on by turning the fader down- not possible otherwise)
    * added unique values to the FX buttons (these were used for direct FX selection- now added in Traktor Pro)
    Last edited by EanGolden; 12-21-2009 at 07:18 PM.

  2. #2
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,904

    Default

    http://kr.renesas.com/fmwk.jsp?cnt=/...s&layerId=1050

    Select the second item in the list (the first is just an upgrade), then you will have to register to get your login details.

    Once you have these follow the link again login and download.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Fatlimey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    1,169

    Default

    Here's a direct link to, I think, the correct tool:

    http://eu.renesas.com//sensitivity.d...oadId=D1012168

    Midifidler, is this the right thing?

  4. #4
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    Yep thats the right one, link updated. Thanks Fatlimey

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Írebro, Sweden
    Posts
    9

    Default

    If I install the 1.3 firmware, is it possible to switch between this new firware and the old 1.1 firmware?

  6. #6
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    It is possible to switch between 1.3 and 1.2 (which is basically 1.1) Watch this video for instructions:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pq9dpq6PlGQ

    note: the unit will always default to 1.3 though and to start in 1.2 you will have to execute the hold command each time its turned off.
    Last edited by EanGolden; 08-24-2008 at 12:40 AM.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    The store says "The VCI-100 upgrade kits will be on sale in mid September" does that mean I have to wait? Or is the page outdated?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru B33SON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506

    Default Cannot get to boot mode

    Hi Ean,

    I got my upgrade kit and followed the steps outlined in the video. However, when I power on the unit the LED lights turn on. Apparently, I can't make it go into Boot Mode. I double and triple checked to make sure the kit is sitting snug on the connector. The only other thing I can think might possibly be wrong is that I have my COM Port set up incorrectly. ...Or perhaps my Serial Cable is bad. Would either of these things prevent my unit from entering boot mode?

    Michael

  9. #9
    Tech Guru B33SON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506

    Default

    Actually... The right jog wheel flashes red. Don't know if that's good or bad. Should I try and flash it anyhow?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru B33SON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506

    Default Fash Failed

    So I tried a few more things since my last posting.

    • I checked my BIOS to make sure that my COM1 was enabled. Everything looked good there.
    • I re-tried the flash process selecting COM1 in the Renesas software. This is when I got the flashing red jog wheel
    • I re-tried the flash process selecting COM3 in the Renesas software.
    • I re-tried the flash process selecting COM1 in the Renesas software. This time and everytime after when went through the steps and switched the power on all the lights came on indicating I was in user mode. Since that one time I haven't even gotten the strange flashing red jog wheel again.


    Today at work I got a PS/2 to Serial cable so I'm going to try that tonight. Any tips would be appreciated!

    Michael

Page 1 of 18 1234511 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •