The Art Of Knob Twisting?
Page 1 of 15 1234511 ... LastLast

Default The Art Of Knob Twisting?

As someone who is just getting into live DJ-ing (Ive been producing electronic music for a few years now though), I'm a little confused as to what most "stars" of the scene are doing up there on stage. Obviously theres the transitions between songs, some slight Eq-ing in-between, and figuring out/loading up the next track, assuming it isn't a pre-made mix. But most of that can be done within the first 30 seconds of a track. There seems to be alot of fake knob twists, exaggerated tapping of stuff, and just overall movements that arent actually doing anything. Is there actually something going on here, or is it just to look busy?

It all kind of seems inauthentic. I get that it adds a little bit of a stage show, and it looks like your engaged in your performance. In no way am I trying to be negative about it, I'm just trying to understand the live aspect of DJs. Can someone enlighten me on this ? Thanks

Look Busy. Get Paid

Welcome to the Forum matey.
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Quote Originally Posted by Jester View Post
    Look Busy. Get Paid

Welcome to the Forum matey.
    Lol I guess that makes sense. And thanks !

Adding FX?

Doing Bass Cuts?

Cue point jumping?
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

Tech Mentor

It's partly doing nothing and small adjustments on the way. You can also use the EQ knobs to do create effects.
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Olsgaard/
    House/Techno Dj from Denmark

Quote Originally Posted by Jester
    Look Busy. Get Paid