Rapid-fire song mixing vs start-to-finish mixing
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Rapid-fire song mixing vs start-to-finish mixing

Hello, DJTechTools users.

My name is SoulBrix and this is my first post here.

I recently started taking DJing more seriously (I've been a music producer since 2010, but never had much interest in DJing, until I had a couple of invitations last year to perform - I loved it, and it really helps on the production of new material), and to further extend my knowledge and capabilities, I've been reading/watching tutorials, articles and listening to some mixes on Youtube. And that's when I came up with the title question.

Back in 2011, I had a friend that used to DJ a lot, and he always told me that, if I ever DJ, I should never play a new track on each drop. I always kept that in mind, and reflected that idea on my mixes. But, in these youtube mixes, it seems that DJs are always playing new songs on every drop.

My question is: which technique is preferable? Personally, I find it jarring to be constantly playing new tracks, but that may be because of my lack of experience. But what do you, DJs with far more experience than me, think is the best way? What is best for pleasing the crowd?

Thanks in advance!

personally i like to let tracks breathe a little, but i dont play them end to end.i do see some DJs that i think mix too quickly, but it is also nice once in a while to just use a small piece or just a loop of a song.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu

Tech Guru

The only genre that I think you can get away with very quick mixing is electro house and the top 40 stuff.

Otherwise, intro-outro I think is my favorite as my favorite part of a song is usually the breakdown. If a song is particularly repetitive, then I will only use a small portion as ^.
    Bedroom DJ | Pioneer DJM-800 | Pioneer CDJ2000 and CDJ900-NXS | 2 x Mackie MR8MKII | Sennheiser Amperior