First Traktor set up
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default First Traktor set up

I’m after a bit of advice. After a 12 year break I’ve decided that I’m going to get back into DJing, things have changed a lot since I last picked up a pair of headphones (and a bag full of vinyl). I’ve decided that Traktor will be my weapon of choice over Serato, if it’s good enough for Carl Cox it’s definitely going to be more than enough for me. Plus from what I can gather Serato seems to be more aimed at the Hip Hop DJ end of the market, I may be wrong though.

Anyway. I’ve narrowed my choice of controller down to an S2 MkII or a Z1 with an X1 MkII. If later on I want to use a third / fourth deck for samples and loops I take it I can just add an F1 to either of these set ups? The X1 doesn’t have faders so I’m guessing it would be pretty difficult to mix stuff in from a third / fourth deck on a 2 channel mixer? You can see I’m new to all of this.

Apart from the obvious lack of jog wheels is there much difference between these two set ups in terms of being able to get the most out of the Traktor software? Portability is not an issue, I doubt that these will leave the house more than once or twice a year to the odd house party with friends, my days of lugging equipment to clubs and bars are long gone. I just want something I can plug into my laptop and mix away, I don’t want to spend time remapping stuff.

Cheers,

Rob

s4 or s8 would be a good all in one i guess, or you could go with a real mixer and an x1 and f1... if u have money to spend id go the modular route. get a real nice 4 channel mixer and some usb deck controls. unless u like to scratch. then id say 1200s, nice mixer and some dicers would be a nice rig..

as everyone knows here im a big fan of the akai apc40 mapped to traktor, which is very affordable but you need a soundcard.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu