Noise in right channel from Pioneer PLX-1000

Default Noise in right channel from Pioneer PLX-1000

Hi guys,

I'm new to turntables and I just picked up a Pioneer PLX-1000 and a Shure M44-7 this week.

I set up the cartridge according to the instructions and the overhang measuring tool in the manuals. I balanced the tonearm until it was horizontal, zero'd out the counterweight, then turned it to 3 grams and turned anti-skate to 3.

Sound quality is great except the right channel is experiencing intermittent noise / static / crackling, only playing new records. Note that the noise is ONLY on the right channel.

Currently my theories are:

1. I damaged the stylus of the cartridge somehow

2. I have the tonearm / cartridge set up improperly

If anyone can help me resolve this, I will be eternally grateful.

Swap needles, and them the carts over (left deck to right deck, and vice versa).

Then you can rule out/isolate it as a cart problem.

If it IS a cart problem, just strip it down and re-assemble it.

If it's only in the right channel, though, I suspect it IS a cart wiring issue. Make sure no bare wires behind the cart are frayed or touching, and check the connection between the wires and the pins on the cart and the tonearm are good and tight.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

this is bad advice BUT, you can also try licking the contacts on the rear of the cartridge before screwing it onto the tone arm. your saliva is corrosive so you dont want to do it alot, but it can vastly improve the connection to moisten it a little.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu