Do you use both Serato & Traktor Pro?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1

    Default Do you use both Serato & Traktor Pro?

    why do you use both programs?
    Last edited by Stewe; 02-27-2015 at 08:32 PM.
    Numark 4 Trak | VCI-400 | Fostex PM0.3 Bookshelf Monitors | The Triple Threat NI-F1, N1-X1-MK2, NI-Z1 | Serato DJ/Flip

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Because*:

    1339131620_richbitchhp4.png

    *I'm not rich.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  3. #3
    Tech Guru DJAdeSands's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Posts
    538

    Default

    I have both, but it's because I got serato with my Denon Controller.. haven't used it live tho..
    Denon DJ/MC6000KMK2/Launchpad S/LaunchcontrolXL/Traktor Pro 2/Bringin it since 96.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I used Serato Scratchlive since it came out way back when... Now that I do not DJ much anymore, I find myself messing around with Traktor. There is more to explore with Traktor, and I feel like I always uncover something new each time I use it. But when push comes to shove and I have an important gig, I go back to using Scratchlive.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor Irrational Fear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Oxford - UK
    Posts
    216

    Default

    We use both for our mobile gigs- my mate has Serato with a Denon mc6000mk2 and I run Traktor with my Denon x1600 mixer and sc2900s (though soon to be with my recently ordered Zomo mc-1000).

    It works well, the mc6000 outputs into channel 1 on my mixer (I use 2 & 3) and we run the master outs from there. Gives us a solid back up running both pieces of software across 2 laptops. Plus both the mixer & mc6000 have XLR outputs should anything happen to either.

    In terms of fundamentals, DJ software is DJ software- they all work the same. I quite like having both though, it means we are less likely to suffer from a dodgy update etc (not that we ever have on either). If I had the hardware I'd probably have both installed on the same laptop if even if it was just me. But again, that's for mobile use where I like to have backups for backups for backups...
    https://www.facebook.com/ekmobile.entertainment / http://soundcloud.com/dave-eden
    2 Denon SC2900, Denon Dn-x1600, 2 Vestax PDX2000mk2, 2 Technics 1210, Stanton SK6, Gemini SA600mk2, Pio HDJ1500, 2 Synergy CD2000 (antiques)

  6. #6

    Default

    Never thought about having another program as a backup just in case one crashes on you.
    Numark 4 Trak | VCI-400 | Fostex PM0.3 Bookshelf Monitors | The Triple Threat NI-F1, N1-X1-MK2, NI-Z1 | Serato DJ/Flip

  7. #7
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,340

    Default

    I would use Serato...Except for the fact the hardware is so DAMM EXPENSIVE! SL4...cmon $600-$800 thats just stupid

  8. #8

    Default

    I have a ns6 so I mostly use serato... That being said I own traktor, cross, and virtual dj

  9. #9
    Tech Guru 031999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NYC, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,340

    Default

    I would love to start using Cross, but until they start supporting 4 deck DVS I cant use it.

  10. #10

    Default

    Yeah I just snagged two k2 and a xone 92 for $400 so I'll likely use cross with that or maybe I'll go back to traktor and retire my ns6... I do a bit of mobile djing so cross looks like would be great for the auto play functions but I've yet to sit down and work with it to really understand it

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •