Deep House/House Music Organization

Default Deep House/House Music Organization

Hey All.

Newbie here. I've started to organize my music library, which I have neglected for so long and has definitely hindered my ability to move forward in terms of making mixes, and whatnot.

Just a question for all the deep house/house people out there.

How do you go about organizing what your playlists and what you will play? There is so much versatility and sub genres within.

Thanks so much.

Tech Mentor

The genre doesn't matter, you have to know your music, you have to know the track. You can build playlists based on what works best with what.

Tech Guru

You can create your own sub genres by how the tracks sound to you. Get similar tracks in the same groups and give names to these groups (I give numbers), don't bother following how people name it, in the end it doesn't matter.
    13" Macbook Air i7, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD | Traktor 2.7.1 | Ableton Live 9 | DJM-900 Nexus | NI Audio 10 | A&H Xone:K2 | Oyaide USB & RCA | HDJ-2000 | Odyssey BRLDIGITAL Bag

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

There's software like beatunes that will help you categorize music with things like colors and moods for the "feel" of a track.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Tech Mentor

You'll have to figure out what works for you, as everyone is different. For my own preference, things are broken down into percussive/ sexy/ melodic/ vocal ect...

No matter what setup you go with, you'll end up changing it at some point so don't fret too much.

also don't be afraid to shelve some tunes to keep down the clutter.
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

Tech Mentor