Looking for software that can play through my collection, but at a set BPM
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Ever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    116

    Default Looking for software that can play through my collection, but at a set BPM

    I typically record my house podcasts at slower speeds. Some as low as 112bpm. Consequentially, some songs sound better than others at this speed.

    I'd love a way to listen through my collection at a set BPM. For example, it would be awesome if I could pull up Rekordbox/VirtualDJ/etc, select my entire library (or at least a playlist), and have it play through. That's not asking much for any music library, but I'd love if the BPM could be fixed instead of changing per track.

    Can anyone think of any work-arounds to do this, and in which systems? Something so I don't have to load each individual track and then set the BPM?

    Caveat: this isn't for live-DJ'ing. This is for simply listening to my tracks at home while I cook, for example. Just getting to know my collection better.

    Thanks for any tips.

  2. #2

    Default

    put traktor on master tempo and cruise mode.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

    http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Ever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deejaesnafu View Post
    put traktor on master tempo and cruise mode.
    I don't have Traktor yet but will check it out, thanks. Is Traktor Pro 2 the software most people use?

    It sounds like Cruise Mode is the part that will play all the tracks in the playlist?

  4. #4

    Default

    I was confusing cruise mode for record action when read.... I'll have to try cruise mode sometime for a mobile gig looks like could be interesting

  5. #5
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ever View Post
    It sounds like Cruise Mode is the part that will play all the tracks in the playlist?
    Yes, cruise mode will just play through all of the songs in a playlist in order.


    Quote Originally Posted by ZxZDeViLZxZ View Post
    I was confusing cruise mode for record action when read.... I'll have to try cruise mode sometime for a mobile gig looks like could be interesting
    I use cruise mode all the time for mobile gigs. I've got a few different early night playlists set up depending on the age range of the crowd and the event, all about 3 hours longs. I then just select the appropriate one, load the first track to deck a, second track to deck b, play deck a and then hit the cruise button. Traktor will then automatically crossfade between then songs. You can change the time of the crossfade in the settings. Note that the crossfade only works properly when mixing in internal mode, in external mode it just plays the tracks with a bit of an overlap, and this is the only reason I use internal mixing.
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You can also set fade in and fade out markers and Traktor will then just play between the two when in cruise mode. Noce for when you have long intros or outros you don't want to play.

    You can try these to see if they do what you want.

    http://www.powermusic.com/tempopower
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/temp...390593407?mt=8
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Mixmeister?
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  8. #8
    Tech Guru robdquick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    590

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    Mixmeister?
    Not sure you can set mixmeister to play at 1 specified tempo. Think it automatically fades between the tempos. You'd have to specifically set the tempo on every track to be the same, which sort of defeats the purpose.
    Mobile DJ. 2 x Denon SC2900, Denon MC-6000 MK2, Wharfedale Titan 15a Powered Speakers, Titan A15 Subs, HP laptop. Shed load of lights!! Maschine Mikro MK2, Xone:K2.

    2nd Generation Mobile DJ
    2G on Twitter | 2G on Facebook
    | RobDQuick On Soundcloud


  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    217

    Default

    You can download an addon to Winamp, which allows you to set the tempo. Can't remember the name, but you can google it
    http://www.mixcloud.com/Olsgaard/
    House/Techno Dj from Denmark

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Ever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Thanks guys.

    Is Traktor Pro the version I should be looking for? Looks like NI doesn't offer a 'light' (cheaper) version.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •