how do you get songs gridded that change tempo slightly?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default how do you get songs gridded that change tempo slightly?

    @DJ TechTools The question I had, or what I was looking for is how do you get songs gridded that change tempo slightly? Like I have plenty of songs where they'll be in sync, on beat, tempo whatever for awhile but then within several bars the beat grid is now off the beat. And I can essentially only adjust the beat grid to be on time to a certain section of the song, you know what I mean? I figured Traktor might be advanced enough to place beat markers on every detected beat instead of putting them at consistent intervals throughout a song at a median place...

  2. #2
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    If I'm understanding you correctly... (You're post was written just fine, I'm just sleepy!)

    Check this link out it looks like it might help you w/ a solution.
    http://thedjpodcast.com/episodes/tra...h-fader-range/

    Also, I highly recommend getting the "Mixed In Key 7" software, once all of you're tracks are analyzed it's a god send to help you pick JUST the right track or JUST the right cue point to start the tracks seamlessly. It also separates you're songs into sections of "Intensity".

    I hope one or both of those solutions help! Good luck and happy mixing!

  3. #3
    Tech Guru SlayForMoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    1,695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yrsakash View Post
    @DJ TechTools The question I had, or what I was looking for is how do you get songs gridded that change tempo slightly? Like I have plenty of songs where they'll be in sync, on beat, tempo whatever for awhile but then within several bars the beat grid is now off the beat. And I can essentially only adjust the beat grid to be on time to a certain section of the song, you know what I mean? I figured Traktor might be advanced enough to place beat markers on every detected beat instead of putting them at consistent intervals throughout a song at a median place...
    Sorry yrsakash, not possible since Traktor doesn't have flexible beatgrids (it is one of the most requested things from users ).
    But please, make sure the tracks have the correct BPM value, that could also be the problem. Traktor isn't 100% correct when determining BPM so it is better to use a external BPM tool on those problem tracks
    Denon X600 - 2x Denon SC-2000 - AKG K181DJ - NI Audio 2

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Stazbumpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Blighty
    Posts
    206

    Default

    I use my ears.
    Live rig: Denon Prime (5000M's)
    Retired: Denon x1700, Denon SC3900's, Traktor, Technics SL1200's, my vinyl
    Wish list: Some Roland Aira stuff.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru calgarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,439

    Default

    make sure you have the correct bpm values for your track... once i get everything synced and meatmatched, i then use my ears to nudge it back into place. you should be able to nudge it with the tempo buttons on the S4. Its part of what makes DJing fun

  6. #6
    Tech Guru AllDay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    From The Okanagan. Canada!
    Posts
    1,182

    Default

    If your playing older songs from a live band and no quantizing going on you can do 2 things.




    Warp the song in ableton to one constant bpm

    or get Serato and use the flexible beatgrids.

  7. #7
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Drop another grid marker further on in the track. Make sure you use "Auto" in the master clock.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AllDay View Post
    If your playing older songs from a live band and no quantizing going on you can do 2 things.




    Warp the song in ableton to one constant bpm

    or get Serato and use the flexible beatgrids.
    Or you could learn basic DJ skills, and actually use your ears.

    Far out.

  9. #9
    Tech Convert Psythik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ View Post
    Or you could learn basic DJ skills, and actually use your ears.

    Far out.
    +1 to this. I don't even bother beatgridding at all.
    Official DJ since 2009 (DJ in spirit since 1988) | I mix open format on NS7 II w/Serato DJ

  10. #10
    Tech Guru calgarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,439

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Psythik View Post
    +1 to this. I don't even bother beatgridding at all.
    its usefull if you wanna juggle through cue points...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •