I'm building a robot that scratches
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default I'm building a robot that scratches

Hi guys~

I've been DJing for about 3 years, which is cool I guess , but I've been interested in robotics since I was 3, and I uh have decided to combine the two? I feel bad that I might be helping to make these kinds of scenarios a reality. oh well, I like robots XD

my crossfader-gating and vinyl-manipulating thing prototypes are working as of an hour ago. They're crappy cardboard XD,

however, I'm designing the parts in Solidworks. I've had the crossfader thing designed for a couple weeks now, but I'll be designing the vinyl thing (based off my silly cardboard prototype)

My materials science professor at my uni (Texas A&M) and his grad student are opening an "Open 3D Printing Studio", and I took a midterm early and we started talking about 3D printing, and they thought my idea was dope so they're helping me out with that. The first parts I've already designed were printed over the weekend; I accounted for plastic expansion after printing so I hope they fit and it works

It is powered by an Arduino Mega and it uses the MIDI Clock and a few Traktor midi outs based on things like beatphase and such for the timing to sync up accurately. I chose a Mega so I could fit maybe 64 instant-grat scratching patterns on it, it has a lot of memory!

I think tomorrow, I'll work on building more scratches. when I get more building blocks put together, a beat or two's worth of a scratch takes only one line which notes the timings and angles of a scratch. I might even make a GUI to build routines later.

I need to upgrade the servo motors, they are pretty cheap and I already broke one.