Traktor Hangs When Quitting
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor jimmyv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    127

    Default Traktor Hangs When Quitting

    Once in a while after a long performance like a wedding, when I quit Traktor, it hangs and I have to force quit. It hangs at the "Storing Track Collection" status bar. This only started happening recently and I can't figure out what is causing it. I am out of the box user, no special mappings etc. I have not updated anything, nor made any changes.

    MacbookBook Pro (late 2013) OSX 10.9.4
    Processor: 2.6GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory: 16GB 1600 MHZ DDR3

    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.8
    Kontrol S4 mk2 (connected to USB 3.0 Powered hub)
    Kontrol F1 (connected to USB 3.0 Powered hub)
    MOTU 828 Audio Interface connected via Firewire/ Thunderbolt adaptor
    WD My Passport 1TB hard drive (connected directly to computer USB 3.0)

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    478

    Default

    I'm wondering why you have an audio interface if you have an S4? Also why you would need a powered hub just for an S4 and an F1? The hanging issue is probably Traktor storing your collection. How long do you wait before you force quit? I have thought a few times that it was hanging and let it go and it works itself out eventually. How is your library set up? Are all the tracks already in your collection? How big is your collection? The bigger the collection, the longer it will take.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Koh Chang, Siam
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Saving the library should be quite fast.
    Mine has 60k+ songs in it (yes, I know, I know) and saves within less than 30 seconds.
    Loading such a large collection takes significantly longer even with disabled checks on startup.

    I experienced the same behaviour on different Traktor and OS versions. As it is only the shutdown, my main concern is to save the latest history/archive and played states. This was always possible by right clicking on "Track Collection" and then select "Save Collection". After that was done, I didn't care if Traktor failed to shutdown and simply killed it.

    Some regular steps with this kind of problem on a mac are:

    a) fix disk permissions

    b) start in safe mode (hold down the shift key when starting), login and restart again. This also cleans up some parts of the file system.

    Good luck!

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    How long is it hanging for?

    I've let it hang for 10-20mins before - but after it has closed down the problem has not reoccured...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor jimmyv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dj matt blaze View Post
    I'm wondering why you have an audio interface if you have an S4?
    The MOTU blows away any audio interface I have used. I have been using from days of my VCI 100

    Quote Originally Posted by dj matt blaze View Post
    Also why you would need a powered hub just for an S4 and an F1?
    After a whole bunch of research everyone was saying to get a powered hub.

    Quote Originally Posted by dj matt blaze View Post
    The hanging issue is probably Traktor storing your collection. How long do you wait before you force quit? I have thought a few times that it was hanging and let it go and it works itself out eventually. How is your library set up? Are all the tracks already in your collection? How big is your collection? The bigger the collection, the longer it will take.
    My collection is about 7500 songs All high quality and a good majority lossless (promo only). I manage my music in iTunes and import it through Traktor. all of the music has been imported to collection as well as my playlists. I know some people hate iTunes, but I love it and it has worked for me since the beginning and don't want to do it any other way.
    I would let it hang for about 10-15 minutes then force quit. If I use it for a shorter period of time it does not hang. Also, it doesn't happen all of the time, but lately it's almost after every wedding.
    Last edited by jimmyv; 07-29-2015 at 01:55 PM.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Hey mate, set up a shortcut "SHIFT + S" to save your collection then it will not matter if you have to force quit.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7

    Default

    i personally have an issue where traktor can hang up when i enter or exit full screen mode. traktor becomes sized a certain way.. and the screen hangs, forcing me to shut it down.

    ive also had issues where traktor hangs up when closing, after the storing library bar , on the flushing background tasks bar. when this happens ALL changes to library , settings, cue points....anything that has been done since the last successful shutdown...is wiped out.

    this has been happening to me on the last few versions of traktor,but only mac,
    never on windows.
    Traktor/Ableton /Komplete /MBP OSX el capitan

    http://www.soundcloud.com/deejaesnafu

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor jimmyv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    127

    Default

    OK.... I let it hang for close to 40 minutes and nothing happened. My music collection is safe. I manage through iTunes and just import the playlists. All of my cue points and loops are fine.

    When I fix the disk permissions, will this erase/delete/reformat anything? I have several backups of my computer, but I am in the middle of my busy season and don't have the time to reload my collection back into the computer if it deletes anything. I work a Dj and have very limited free time, so reformatting is not really an option for the next few months.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,765

    Default

    I found the root of this error. Traktor is not a quitter. It refuses to quit. It must be killed in order to quit!
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,470

    Default

    Time for a quick uninstall, shut down and re-install, mate.

    Shouldn't take longer than 10 minutes.

    Make sure you know where all your settings/collection, etc... is kept!
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •