Beginner Dj
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Dj

Tech Convert

Default Beginner Dj

Hi all first i want to say thank you in advance for reading this.

I am a beginner looking on buying some dj equipment, I've been looking around and i dont no what to get either pioneer CDj's or them controllers everyones going on about for example cdjr1 controller or a pioneer xdj rx.. whats the difference between these have they both got the same functions?
    I was pretty keen on getting cdjs then just buying a mixer but then ive seen these and its all in 1 and alot cheaper! I want something thats a good piece of kit but easy to use.. dont want to be buying something thats good for beginners but i wont need to sell so soon after buying for something alot better if that makes sense.

What would you lot recommend?

King Regards Ben

for starters i highly recommend learning how to DJ on vinyl and avoid software. If its something you are unsure about Controllers are a great place to start

check out the Native Instruments s2, which comes with traktor software... the great thing about controllers is the fact that they are easy to sell if you decide DJing is not for you, you can also pick them up used at decent prices.

Tech Convert

pioneer ddd.jpgpioneer s.jpg

Im not to keen on vinyl to be honest. I was thinking something like these attachments above, what do you think?

Thx for replying by the way

Tech Mentor

Yea I have to agree that learning to DJ on Vinyl in 2015 is just not needed. You need to go and do your own research. Check youtube videos, product reviews, etc. to know the differences between gear and then watch some videos on DJing itself with different gear to give you an even better idea about the differences. We can't do your research for you and tell you what to buy, there is plenty of information out there to educate yourself.

Let's start with the basics

What's your budget?
    What type of music do you want to mix?
    Do you prefer to use a laptop or no?