can t calibrate time code vinyls
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29

    Default can t calibrate time code vinyls

    hello, i have a numark usb ttx and an audio 4 dj with traktor pro v2.7

    I have two problems.

    1. ttx is set to "line" and rcas go down to the audio 4 dj like it should.

    When i try to calibrate my timecodes (mk2) i get a warning message saying : high input check phono/line settings.

    The thing is the audio 4 is set to vinyl control ( and there are NO settings !!??)

    2. i dont see the circles appearing at all when i try to calibrate ( also the absolute and relatives stay greyed out )

    Thank you in advance for your help.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Did you check the Phono/Line settings???

    Have you tried setting the ttx to phono?
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  3. #3
    Tech Guru 3heads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leipzig, Germany
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Have you tried setting the ttx to phono?
    This! Will definitely solve his problems.
    13,3" MacBookPro (Mid 2012) # 2x Technics 1210 # NI Audio 8 DJ # Ecler Nuo 2.0 # NI Traktor Kontrol X1 # Sennheiser HD-25
    http://soundcloud.com/vincent-lebaron/

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    The other option is to set your Audio 4 to "Line" in the control panel, it sounds like its on phono.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 3heads View Post
    This! Will definitely solve his problems.
    I thought phono on the ttx was to record vinyls and line was to use time codes, isnt it? I thought i read that in the ttx manual . (Sorry im new to this)

    Thanks for your help ill try those options later

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNoDJ View Post
    The other option is to set your Audio 4 to "Line" in the control panel, it sounds like its on phono.
    I thought line on the audio 4 was to use keyboard and midi stuff and cd time code, here im using the vinyls? Ill try that also thank you for the reply.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru ImNotDedYet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,642

    Default

    I wouldn't think so. Line should be for something like CDJs. Turntable input needs different input, and even though you're on timecodes, you're controlling things via vinyl/turntable.
    2 x Technics 1210 MKII, Pioneer-DJM 900 Nexus, Traktor Scratch Pro, NI F1,
    Ableton Live 9.6 Suite, Ableton Push, Studio One 3, Moog Sub37, Roland Alpha Juno 2, Korg MS-20 Mini, Yamaha TG-77, TR-8, Rhodes MKI Stage, Wurlitzer 200a, couple pedals, couple amps, lots of software and a freakin iPad

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    802

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ImNotDedYet View Post
    I wouldn't think so. Line should be for something like CDJs. Turntable input needs different input, and even though you're on timecodes, you're controlling things via vinyl/turntable.
    His TTX has a built in preamp, so can either be set to line or phono. If set to line, then the signal is preamped to the correct level for a line input, meaning you dont need a phono preamp on the mixer or inline.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    29

    Default

    thanks guys, i was able to finally come up with something, after playing and playing...

    thank you all for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •