Would you recommend the Midi Fighter 3D to a beginner?

Default Would you recommend the Midi Fighter 3D to a beginner?

Hi all,

I'm curious if the Midi Fighter 3D is something that you would recommend to someone new to DJ'ing and using Ableton. The Midi grabbed my attention from a Vine I saw and I like the idea of having arcade style buttons to remix songs while giving off a mesmerizing light show (I am a sucker for lights). I have zero experience with DJ'ing and have only messed with a couple apps on my phone like djay 2 and pacemaker. I'm looking for something more interactive that I will enable me to remix songs and eventually start creating custom beats. I wanted to purchase it over the weekend but would like to hear your inputs before I make a move.

Thanks for your time.

Well as someone who's second controller was a MF Pro I can definitely say that i would advise you to look at another controller. An MF is basically just a little box with 16 buttons that just really feel good, don't get me wrong i love this thing but it has no direct purpose. I can imagine you seeing Ean's great preformances with the deckalized and insta-grat mappings/Mad zachs finger drumming vid's and thinking oh.. I want to be able to do that too! But I would advise you to first look at a all-in one controller (like an S4/APC or something) and then decide what you want to purchase next.
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI

I have to agree with DoubleYou.. The MFs are pretty cool but, kinda pointless unless you have the experience to know exactly what you do and don't need from your controller.

I third the aforementioned posts. Look for a decent all in one. If you are just starting out and want something affordable to learn on and see if this whole jig is right for you, get a gemini slate 4 or something around htat price range.