Cheap and flexible setup for a beginner
    Tech Student

Default Cheap and flexible setup for a beginner

Hey guys! I'm new to DJTT but not new to the world of music. I play guitar and piano and like you guys are passionate about music. I am new to digital music production and all the jiggery pokery associated with it. Now after watching videos of some guys working with there controllers some of them just seemed to stand there and not really do much in terms in making the music unique or different from the original tune. I'm not dissing on anyone who does this but I want a little more expression from the gear. So i set myself up with a budget of 600 bucks. wanna go with traktor and I will be using this at home maybe some friends house.Type of music I like dance, house, metal, rock, classical. I would like to be able to use multiple songs or parts of a song and mesh them together with effects and one shots(remixing?). Im guessing I wanna do more controllerist type routines. After looking around I saw that NI released the s2 mkII at 400 bucks and i could throw in an f1( found for 100 bucks) for my samples and buy a pair of headphones with my left over cash. Seems like a smart move to me because you get TP 2 for free and chroma caps and traktor pro works well with the s2. I also saw the vci 400 but it seems like a double edged sword for me since it is midi mappable and not out of the box set up to run with traktor I would have to learn a whole bunch of other things before I actually get to have some fun. All in all a bit of a hassle for a new guy to start on. Now is the gear I mentioned a good choice for what im looking to do ? If not would you guys suggest some other things for me to look at? And lastly is the VCI as much of a hassle to setup as I think it will be? I know there are articles on this type of question already but I wanted recent suggestions and advice from you guys. Thanks if you respond. IF you guys need extra info let me know.