Ditching Traktor, going back to Serato
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1

    Default Ditching Traktor, going back to Serato

    Hi all,

    Was just interested in your thoughts, I am considering buying a DJM S9, selling my Z2 and going back to Serato. I am finding I am not using Traktor to it's fullest and it feels a bit more suited to playing fixed tempo music. I like to play all sorts of stuff and Serato just feels a bit more suited to that.

    Or am I missing something? Anyone else in a similar boat?

    6ft x

  2. #2
    Schalenberg
    Guest

    Default

    It's all preference. If you like Serato, that S9 is a nice excuse to switch back over to it.

  3. #3
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,354

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 6ft Stereo View Post
    I am finding I am not using Traktor to it's fullest and it feels a bit more suited to playing fixed tempo music. I like to play all sorts of stuff and Serato just feels a bit more suited to that.
    Makes sense.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru the_bastet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    2,764

    Default

    use whatever you feel most comfy with bruv. no bias here
    - Equipment - 2X Technics 1200, 2X Audio Technica ATLP1240, 2X XDJ700, 2X XDJ1000 MK2, Denon DNX-1100, Mixars DUO, DJM750 MK2, NI Audio 10, NI Aduio 4, Serato SL3, 4X Shure M44-7, 2X Ortofon Pro S, 2X Numark Groove Tool, Maschine MK3, Samson Carbon 49, Roland SE-02, Novation Launchcontrol, TouchOSC, Nocation Peak, Arturia MiniBrute, Korg Volca Kick, MicroKorg (Classic), NI Komplete Audio 6

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor overcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Any reason why you wouldn't want to just buy an SL box for Serato and keep the Z2 (other than native mappings)? Seems like an easy way to save about $1000.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    I like to play all sorts of stuff and Serato just feels a bit more suited to that.
    I don't know what this means?
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    why not have the option for both?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    21

    Default

    One thing I've found about Traktor that doesn't suit me is that the tempo adjustment isn't fine enough... Unless I'm missing something. I like the Pioneer mixers as they stay on the .1 decimal point.

  9. #9
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,354

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsyEntz View Post
    One thing I've found about Traktor that doesn't suit me is that the tempo adjustment isn't fine enough... Unless I'm missing something. I like the Pioneer mixers as they stay on the .1 decimal point.
    Not a Traktor thing.
    The tempo resolution depends of how good resolution are the pitch faders on your controller.

  10. #10

    Default

    DJM S-9's are taking an age to come to the UK, so still playing off Traktor, however, I found a little nugget by accident. There isn't a good way of getting your recorded tracks with ID3's to Serato, but if you drag them into itunes, then open Serato and find them, if you double click the name and press return, you get the artist name and album name autofilled and that helps with finding which recording is which, so all you have to do is enter the track name... Still a bit of a pain, but better than having to find them all manually.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •