Im looking at becoming a DJ.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Im looking at becoming a DJ.

Hi there my name is Zac and I'm looking at becoming a DJ. I have no experience in the subject and was hoping to gather some advise and tips. Help would be much appreicated.

1. Listen to a lot of music and I mean listen. Analyze it, pay attention to details, etc.
    2. Learn to count music. When you listen to music Count count count count. Always count until it becomes second nature.
    3. If you get a controller and you are using traktor or serato DON'T USE EFFECTS. This may seem counter intuitive but right now the effects you use are likely to do stuff that doesn't sound good. INSTEAD use your HI MId and Low Knobs. Learn to use them effectively and the world of DJing is way more open to you.
    4. Don't think you need better equipment. I learned on a Mixtrack (not even the pro) and it gave me all the I needed to know in order to be able to do more today. Today if I used a mixtrack I could still throw down a house after creating a custom mapping that fits my style. It isn't the controller. It is practice and developing a style. Be patient with this especially.

Not sure if you could be any more vague lol.

I assume you would like some help with finding out what would be your best options for equipment?

edit/ You can start here:

http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=71847

After you read that you should check out this movie. You will need to learn how to sync the BPM with the heartbeat of the listener.

Quote Originally Posted by Dystinct View Post
    After you read that you should check out this movie. You will need to learn how to sync the BPM with the heartbeat of the listener.

Stethoscopes out boys!

Hi Zac!

Here's my two tips for you to start: