Beat gridding funky bpm tracks
    Tech Student

Default Beat gridding funky bpm tracks

I'm working with several Leon Vynehall tracks at the moment and they are all real weird bpms - 121.563, 123.810, etc. I am trying to sync them with a drum loop at 124... do I keep them as they are or adjust the bpm grid up/down? If it was 123.995 I'd bump up to 124, but these aren't so clear and I'm new to this. Thanks for any guidance!

If you start adjusting the beat grid you may do something that won't sound right when you sync the tracks.. unless the beat grid is off and you need to adjust it. Most times the beatgrid is ok, and sometimes needs minor adjustments, I've also seen tracks where beatgrids are analysed and are a total mess.
    For example, say the beatgrid is right on, and the software reads it as 118.568 bpm, after computer analasys. If you need to play that at 120 bpm don't change the Beatgrid, just increase the tempo slightly to match 120.
    You'll experience some frustrating issues if you are using tracks that have a change of tempo or if you adjust the beatgrid to match the bpm of another track..!
    Denon DJ/MC6000KMK2/Launchpad S/LaunchcontrolXL/Traktor Pro 2/Bringin it since 96.

Tech Guru

Quote Originally Posted by flipnthebeats View Post
    I'm working with several Leon Vynehall tracks at the moment and they are all real weird bpms - 121.563, 123.810, etc. I am trying to sync them with a drum loop at 124... do I keep them as they are or adjust the bpm grid up/down? If it was 123.995 I'd bump up to 124, but these aren't so clear and I'm new to this. Thanks for any guidance!
    Ignore the numbers of BPMs and start listening to music. Decimal places in BPMs are common and completely irrelevant to mixing.