Finding out the mix point?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Finding out the mix point?

Hi everyone,

Happy new year and I hope you are all well?

Ive got a question regarding mixpoints, Ive been mixing for many years but cant get my mixes to roll like the mixes i listen to on mixcloud or live within a club environment.

I understand the whole phrase mixing scenario but whenever i use specific points it dosent roll as id like?

How do you people work out those smooth transitions mixpoints?

I mix deep/tech house.

Any tips or advice would be great.

Thanks

James

many years?

you would understand where and when to start the next record...

At the very least you should be able to look at a record/wav form and realize when and where the tracks gets louder...
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

Quote Originally Posted by keithace View Post
    many years?

you would understand where and when to start the next record...

At the very least you should be able to look at a record/wav form and realize when and where the tracks gets louder...
    In his defence, I think he knows when/where part, it's just the finesses that trouble him.
    Some thing I learned long time ago when I started the transition from bedroom into clubs:
    - things are less obvious when you're just the listener (even if you know the tracks that are being mixed)
    - loud volume in clubs also "kills" our ability to recognize what's going on in the sound
    - club DJ's tend to, week after week, use songs that they know will fit together
    - online mixes are more often than not very well reharsed if they are live (very careful track selection that goes well into each other) or are even studio/software produced (like the live mixes only + EQ-ing, compression, phrasing adjusted, some parts perfectly looped, chopped, synced)

My point - don't worry about it, practice and experiment with tracks.